No favourites just a poem I like

Warning by Jenny Joseph
 
When I am old I shall wear purple
With a red hat which dosn’t go.   and dosen’t suit me.
And I shall spend my pension on brandy and summer gloves
And satin sandals.   and say we’ve no money for butter.
I shall sit down on the pavement when I’m tired
And gobble up samples in shops and press alarm bells
And run my stick along the public railings
And make up for the sobriety of my youth.
I shall go out in my slippers in the rain
And pick flowers in other peoples’s gardens
And learn to spit.
 
You can wear terrible shirts and grow more fat
And eat three pounds of sausages at a go
or only bread and pickle for a week
And hoard pens and pencils and beermats and things in boxes.
 
But now we must have clothes that keep us dry
And pay our rent and not swear in the street
And set a good example for the children.
We must have friends to dinner and read the papers.
 
But maybe I ought to practise a little now?
So people who know me are not too shocked and surprised
When suddenly I am old.   and start to wear purple.
 
 
Hope I am not infringing copyright but I just love this poem,   If you like it too Jenny Joseph is a fantastic poet and has lots of other work worth reading.
 
 
About brentwoodprop

Just loving life, carrying my camera and searching for beauty!
This entry was posted in Poem. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to No favourites just a poem I like

  1. India says:

    This sounds just like me. Perhaps I am getting old! lol. I’m glad you like my songs. Thanks for visiting my site and telling me about it. Which songs are your favourites? It’s nice to know which are popular. I can take off the one’s that aren’t then. If you need help with anything on your site, have you seen my page 2 india’s hive of industry. Lots to learn on there. Hope your family come and visit you soon. ^S^

  2. Suzie says:

    I loved that poem!! that will be me when I am older…No doubt at all!! heheheehee…The perk of getting old is being able to do crazy stuff like that and I think by that time in my life I deserve to get away with it..Thank you for your comment and suggestion on my dolls name…I think it will be a winner as it sums her up perfectly! (and me too)…lovely space..come back soon…suzie x

  3. shroomy says:

    hi susan, thankyou for visiting my purple space, popped in to say hi.
    i have been  a bit of a rebel since i was a young girl ,  not waiting till i am old to do it .. hehe
    i liked your mushroom hunt and the pictures … i go mushroom hunting but i don’t think it’s quite the same as your mushroom hunt  eh ?   i also go treasure hunting in the woods, i  love to bring old twisted up pieces of wood home and put them in my garden … ok so i’m a little strange.. nothing wrong with that is there ?
     
    love shroomy x

  4. shroomy says:

    Your garden sound wonderful susan.. oh how i love woodlands..
    errr just a thought on the mushroom front… any going spare ??
     
    love shroomy x

  5. ellen says:

    ohh shroomy wot you like??:O)) ,
     
    SORRY hi susan ,cudds here,i was on my mate shroomys  site and saw you there, :O))
     
    so i popped in to see you,my hubby has got two allotments on the go now,both were very overgrown and he’s working so hard on them, one we have had 3yrs this easter the other nearly a year,we love to go up there,in the morning in summer we are up there about 7 o clock,and we see all rabbits and wild life roaming about it,its so relaxing to just sit there,we take sandwiches with us and we even have a likkle cooker to boil a kettle ,so we can have tea and coffee whilst  up there,please visit my space when u have time,be warned tho it may not be to ur taste,lol,big kid at heart,lol,but there again i do have three grandkids,lol,take care,hope to see you soon,cuddsxx

  6. ellen says:

    hi again Susan,thanx for puttin me on urs, i have put you on mine also now,lol,maybe we can share allotment tips,lol,also you’ll have to get a guset book going .?so i can add to in there ,lol,c u soon hopefully,cuddsxx

  7. ellen says:

    oppppsss,lol,guest book?that should have been,

  8. ellen says:

    lol, susan no, please dont start a gusset book goin ,i have enough with my mate shroomy and friends,and their antics that they get up to,dont think cudds cud cope we much else,lol,if your still having probs puttin ur counter on there are loads places, tell you how to do things,if u need me to help i will try ok,i am still learning,with help from my mates,bless them ,ur guest book you do same as ur blogs,lol,but just name it guest book, till you see a nice sign u like thats another story,?hope that makes sense to you,lol,take care,cuddsxx

  9. ellen says:

    hi susan ,just popped in to let you know my daughter and her family have now took on an allotment,we spent all friday nearly up there,sheer bliss,lol,they have a plot next door but one to ours,lol,so its a case of us taking over ,lol,helped her put some onions in,told her shes got to make a start somewhere,lol,hope ur well,chat soon,cuddsxx

  10. ellen says:

    hi again,well daughter will be 40yrs old in july,we celebrate 40 yrs anniversary,28th april,lol,so dont take much to work out dates,lol,yep we was kids ourselves?,but we have weathered the storms life as thro at us,lol,my daughter  has two kids,Amelia 14 yrs,caleb is 9 yrs,then we have caitlin 4yrs old in may,(my sons daughter)he is 35 yrs old,so at a lovely age ,all of them to help out,i also put a row off peas,4 rows beetroot in on monday,but my main job up there, as hubby sez is www,lol,weeding,watering,whinging,the later coz i always get the weeding jobs,lol,well must go,chat again soon,cuddsxx

  11. Magenta says:

    Hi Susan,
    Thank you for coming to visit and your kind comments. Is this the purple blog you were referring to?  What a great poem.

Leave a Reply

