More Tales from the Allotment

 
Well the warmer weather has arrived, and everbody is working hard on their plots.   It seems the most successful crop at the moment is Bamboo Canes! They spring up over night and one day nothing there, the next they are eight foot tall, some wigwam shaped, some square and some tunnel, all have beans and peas of some type climbing over them. 
H  
 
 We have planted spuds and got some duds,
French beans are saying "non"
The onion sets are growing lots
And so are our shallots! boom boom! 
 
 
 
well keep watching this space for more information on growing your own vegetables
 
 
 
About brentwoodprop

Just loving life, carrying my camera and searching for beauty!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to More Tales from the Allotment

  1. Magick says:

    Hello Susan:  I’m so glad you stopped by my space to say hello.  I see we both have a favourite space….bijoux (Deborah)…she was one of the first people to come to my site when I set it up a few months back.  I hope you come by again….I love lots of company…lol.
    I envy you the fact that you have such a great vegetable garden.  I miss that so much.  Fresh veggies out of your own garden just can’t be beat.  I can’t do much gardening anymore because of the arthritis and fibromyalgia (which I see is something else we have in common…lol).  Please tell me your secret on how you are able to garden with those diseases.
    I have a small flower garden….all in raised pots….I just HAVE to have flowers.
    Please feel free to come by anytime you wish……nice to meet you.
    Blessings…..Diane.

  2. Deborah says:

    Hello Susan, I am hoping to see many pictures and articles on the allotment over the growing season.  I miss having a garden of my own, so I will enjoy yours if that is okay.  BTW, my e-mail is Bijouxmershon@yahoo.com.  Bijoux Mershon is my pen name, and the name under which I am working on a novel.  I live in Washington State in what is called the Pacific Northwest.  My novel takes place here, and in England.  I hope to visit your country in a couple of years.
    Blessed be,
    Deborah

  3. will says:

    Hi again
    Looks like you have been busy & are going to
    be busy for a while lol
    good luck & have a great Bank Holiday weekend x

  4. Deborah says:

    Yes, we have allotments in the cities.  They aren’t as large as yours and are referred to as pea-patches.  It is a hold over from the Victory gardens of the WWII era, and the practice was implemented for urbanites back in the sixties.  They are in short supply and the waiting lists are long.  Is Essex the garden district?  I can’t recall from my Jane Austin.  I have a pen-pal in Accrington, Lancaster, of whom I have grown very fond.  We write often, and used to chat on MSN, but I haven’t seen him on line lately.  The time difference is like eight hours, so we are on such different schedules.
    Blessed be,
    Deborah
     

  5. shroomy says:

    Hi Suki, How are you, i see you have been busy on your plot….. i have been looking for mine but it still seems to be lost …. any ideas ??
     
     *wink*

  6. Magenta says:

    Your community garden looks like so much fun. Years ago I was involved with one and grew a lot of tomatoes. Does bamboo really grow that fast?  Seems amazing. At that rate you should be able to see it growing right in front of your arms.  May your garden prosper and your summer be radiant and long.
    elise

  7. will says:

    Hi hows the gardening going?
    i have some pics of mine on my space now soif u ever
    get bored and want a fresh challenge lol……..
    takecare xx

  8. Deborah says:

    Susan, off to the days round of doctor’s visits for my friend.  We have at least one appointment every day this week.  I have an interview next week, and since it is in one of the county parks, I am hoping I get it.  The facility has a full size year round ice skating rink, so it would be a fun place to work I think.  Just wanted to check on the allotment, and let you know I will try to sit down and take care of my emailing tonight.
    Blessed be,
    Deborah

  9. Marie says:

    Thank you for coming over for a visit.  My visit here was a great pleasure for I really enjoy visiting parks and gardens.  I will certainly be dropping by regularly to see how your garden grows.
    Hugs, Marie

  10. Magenta says:

    Hi Susan,
     
    Do you happen to know how the daisy "he loves me, he loves me not"  thing originated. I love the mythology and folklore attached to flowers and fauna.
     
    elise

  11. Cheryl says:

    Thanks for visiting my space.  I was about to retire a year ago so I took up photography as a hobby.  I got the best equipment i could afford and that made all the difference in the world.  Now that equipment can be had for half of what i paid for it but it has been a good camera.  it is a Canon EOS Rebel EX.  it has 8 megapixels and the rechargeable battery will shoot about 700 pictures before needing to be recharged.  The real reason I bought it was it is fast.  Most digital’s you snap the picture and then you wait for the camera to process it and finally snap.  By then the butterfly is gone or the person moved.  So it was the fastest camera out there.  Then I bought a zoom lens for it.  It is a Canon Steady shot EF 75-300.  it is not rated very high but i take most of my pictures with it.  A few months ago i bought off the internet for hald of what i would have paid in the camera shop- a macro lens.  That lens gets intricate detail.  So i can take pictures of bugs and blowers and not loose detail.  It is a Phoenix 100 mm Macro AF.
     
    I found that the most important thing about taking pictures is the lighting and the lens.  If you have a great lens and good light it will be a great shot.
     
    Cheryl

  12. Korku says:

    Cool Space !!!!
    Check Out Mine !!!

  13. Unknown says:

    Welcome to enter (wow gold) and (wow power leveling) trading site, (wow gold) are cheap, (wow power leveling) credibility Very good! Quickly into the next single! Key words directly to the website click on transactions!

Leave a Reply

