The Allotment in July

 
Well July saw the hottest tempratures in the UK since records were kept, 99.5 degrees recorded at Wisley.   Now this is good in one respect for all the Mediterranean vegetables we like to grow, as you can see the tomatoes are coming on a treat, and the courgettes are exploding into marrows as soon as you turn your back.  But its not so good for the poor old beans (like me) who like it a bit cooler, weather here usually suits us down to the ‘ground’.
 
Working the ground is the sincerest form of communing with nature. some hard graft goes into it but mother nature does the rest and as long as you respect the earth and return the goodness to it she will reward you in many ways.   In spring there was a field of oil seed rape Brilliant yellow, and when that was harvested the next field was Linseed, a beautiful soft lilac (or pale purple) an everchanging counterpane of colour, there is no noise of traffic and all you  can  hear is the sound of nature.
 
Om Shanti, Bright Blessings, and may your God or Godess go with you
 
Suki x
 
 
 
 
About brentwoodprop

Just loving life, carrying my camera and searching for beauty!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Allotment in July

  1. Magick says:

    Your veggie pics look absolutely delicious….but, your carrot is a little deformed, don’t ya think…lol.  It sounds so peaceful and serene when you talk about your garden.
    Hugs…Diane.

  2. Magick says:

    Hi there:  You can also use a person’s spaces URL to add them to your friends.  When you bring up the screen to add a friend, you’ll notice at the bottom of it that you have 3 choices.  Choose the one that says "use space’s URL"….you can get that URL at the bottom of their comment when they leave one.  Also, if you hold your curser over a person’s profile picture and list will pop up and on the list you will see "invite to be a messenger contact".  You can use that also.
    Hugs….Diane.

  3. William says:

    Hi, just going from blog to blog and stumbled into your garden.  I’ve enjoyed the pictures, and will return when more time is available.  I’m in the southeast of USA, we too are really warm, hot and dry.  My little garden is still producing tomatoes, and peppers.  Gardening is a joy…….
    Bill………

  4. Dusty says:

    Hey – that was great, John putting us in touch – we do seem to have a lot in common………the yoga/the garden etc.  You will give me an incentive to put more on my blog site now – will work on it while you are away. Jean

  5. Marie says:

    It has been quite hot here in Tokyo, too.  But Autumn is just around the corner!!
    You are so blessed to have such a place to garden. 
    I do love MSN Spaces and really hesitate leaving it since I have had my space since December, 2004 and I have so many friends here.  But I find it so difficult to go visiiting other spaces because my internet secutiry suite applications prevent a page from being loaded without filtering out all the ads, cookies, wet bugs, etc., etc. They are really effective at filtering them out since I do not see any ads – not even the top banner ads on every page of the MSN Live Spaces, but I feel that I am no longer "web surfing" but "web-crawling". (LOL)
    Whevever I disable some of the security applications, I can go faster, but then why take the risk. . .
    Hugs, Marie

  6. Deborah says:

    Things are definitely beautiful in Churchwood these days, but I can’t believe those temperatures you’re having.  I hate it when the temp gets up to 80 degrees.  Here on the Puget Sound basin it is already feeling like fall.  Warm days, but chilly nights.  Not good for tomatoes.  I agree there is no better way to feel in tuned with nature and to put your hands in the ground and feel the earth. 
    Blessed be, enjoy the fruits and flowers of your labor.
    Deborah

  7. Magick says:

    Just stopping by to say hello…blogland is very quiet right now.
    Hugs….Diane.

  8. John says:

    Hi Sukim re the commrnt you left at my site, what you describe is called ‘Sods Law’

  9. Vince says:

    Im hearing because we had a hotter than normal temperatures this summer, that out winter is going to be mild. What do you all think on that topic? I heard it was hotter than normal all over the world, not just here in the USA. Think maybe it has something to do with the global warming aspect?. I would be interested to hear some comments on that. Have a great day. Bless you all…Vince

  10. Steve says:

    Hello Susan, Ta muchly for the pointers. I was out by the sea & forest yesterday and i’ll be running around like a blue tailed wassname most of today. I’m going overseas tomorrow so I may not have a chance to follow your tips just yet, so pleeease don’t be too hard on me yet wil you. I’ll look forward to a severe talking to upon my return.
    Incidentally, i’m actually going to the Isle of Wight, but you try walking across !!!!!
    Hambagahle.

Leave a Reply

