More than just a Garden

STAPEHILL ABBEY
 
 
For nearly 200 Years Stapehill Abbey was a place of quiet retreat and meditation locked away from the outside world, home to a Silent Order of Nuns.  
 
 

Today you can still experience the peace and serenity in the fully-restored Nuns’ Chapel, stroll at leasur through the Cloisters that still bear traces of the Nuns’ frequent journeys to and from their daily prayers.

This is Ashley, who lives in the farmyord which is an extention to the Countryside Museum.   unfortunatly they have to close the farm and most of the animals have been re homed including the beautiful rabbits.   Dear old Ashley needs a home.  Any offers?  isn’t he adorable?

There is so much to see and do here it is a whole day out, a nice cafe for lunch and lots of craft shops to spend your money, and lots of interest for children too.   I am sure you will enjoy it if you have the opportunity to go there.

Om Shanti

Suki

http://www.aboutbritain.com/stapehillabbey.htm

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
About brentwoodprop

Just loving life, carrying my camera and searching for beauty!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to More than just a Garden

  1. Deborah says:

    I use use a weekend at a place like the abbey I think.  How is everything going in the allotment?
    Blessed be,

  2. Dusty says:

    You write a great blog!  Lovely photos and that was so good about the cats and dogs!  Thanks for your comments on my blog too.  Is Suki your yoga name?  I haven’t got one of those yet!  Keep writing. On Shanti . J x

  3. Dusty says:

    Me again Suki – sorry.  The site you mentioned about blogging seems a bit complicated for me!  How do you alter the size of the pictures on your blog please?  Mine just come out small.  Are you using all this html language I read about? Any help welcome. Jean

  4. Dusty says:

    Did you get my email or – did I get the email address wrong ?? quite likely – don’t worry, I will persevere with the blog and pictures – Om Shanti
    Jean
    x
     

  5. Dusty says:

    Sent you another mail Suki – hope you got it?
    J
     

  6. Magick says:

    Hi Again:  I’ve just been told that it’s easier to get into someone’s site if you are on their messenger list and they’re on yours.  So I’m giving all my favourite bloggers my email addy and leaving it up to their discretion as to whether or not they want to add me.  It’s bluecow51@hotmail.com.
    Hugs…..Diane.

  7. Magick says:

    Thank you for adding me to your messenger and you are on mine now.  Whenever I post a new blog, a little yellow star will appear by my name on your list.  Click on my small picture beside the star and a box will appear.  Then you click on what’s written in the box and it will take you right to my blog…..it’s much faster that way.  I’m sorry to hear that Princess Haiku’s space is gone.  She had a lovely one.  It makes me angry that msn has made such a mess of spaces.  It’s really spoiled it for a lot of people.
    Hugs……Diane.

  8. Steve says:

    Oh dear, oh dear, what a disaster. I had such high hopes too. I’ve just been mooching round yours again, its great. About the pctures, thereby hangs a tale…. I can’t get the pics from where they are to where I want them and then I can’t get rid of the thingy with the date, which is why you saw that there was something there that isn’t, yeah?
    I’m going to speak to my mate Shroomy about it soon, failing that i’l have to find myself one of these Silver surfer gizmos you mentioned. You will come back again wont you ?  Byeeeee…….

  9. Marie says:

    Hi Suki,
    I did not realize until today that your nickname is "Suki".  Suki is also a Japanese word which means "fond of". 
    I enjoyed the Stapehill photos you posted.  Thank you for sharing them with us.
    What happened to the nuns who used to occupy Stapehill Abbey?  Did they move to a new location?
    Hugs, Marie
     

  10. meg says:

    What a lovely place- I wish we could take Ashley, we have a lovely, large field at church that could use his(her?) ministrations! How is the allotment going- done any harvesting yet?

Leave a Reply

