The Allotment in August

The Good things that Grow
 
After the hot weather in July, the drop in tempreture in August and the rain came as a shock, never the less there is plenty growing on the allotment, not least these precious little seedlings.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
These are the sun and soil inspectors, and this is Hannah doing what she does best!
 
And Rory always helpful, and growing fast
 
The courgettes have slowed down now but the tomatoes have taken over, there are so many small cherry ones very sweet, they have done well and the quality is good, but the Ailsa Craig variety have split their skins as you can see in the photo, (this is due to erratic watering on my part).   These I have made into sweet chutney, very simple the reciepe was in the Autum edition of Gardeners World, for any who may be interested here it is.
 
1 kg/2lb 10 oz ripe tomatoes, peeled and chopped
750g/1lb 10oz cooking apples, peeled and cored and chopped
375g/13 oz light moscovado sugar
250/9oz onions, chopped
250g/9oz raisins
1 green pepper
2 teasp salt
1/2 oz ground ginger
350ml/12fl oz cider vinigar
 
Put all the ingredients into a large pan and bring to the boil over a medium heat.   Stir occasionaly until the sugar has disolved.   Simmer the mixture uncouvered for 45 – 50 mins until the fruit is tender and thickened.   Cool and transfer the mixture to sterilised jars and seal.
 
As usual I did not have all the ingredients to hand so I used artistic licence and replaced the cider vinigar with a mixture of red and white wine vinigar.  Also it was a bit chunky for my taste so I went in with the hand blender when it was cool and gave it a coupe of wizzes.
 
Unlike most chutneys this does not need to keep for months to mature, it is beautiful to eat with cold meat or cheese right away.
 
We also collected plums from a friends orchard and a few gallons of plum wine are on the way.   I may or may not let you know what it is like
 
Om shanti
 
Suki x
 
 
 
 
About brentwoodprop

Just loving life, carrying my camera and searching for beauty!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Allotment in August

  1. Marie says:

    The gifts of Autumn!! Yes, the good months are here when we start reaping what we have sown. 
    Lovely photos.  What kind of chutney did you make? 
    Hugs, Marie

  2. Magick says:

    Awwww….what cute little urchins you have helping you.  Thanks for the chutney recipe….sounds like a delicious one.
    Hugs….Diane.

  3. Dusty says:

    Hi Suki – just back from hols – your blog looks good, love the harvest and your little helpers!  Well done, will get back to my space soon. Om shanti…..D x

  4. John says:

    Love the pics of the kids, brings out the paternal instincts in me. Rosemary will have a go at the Chutney recipe, though we shall swop the sugar for an artificial sweetener, the curse of diabetes.

  5. Tani says:

    I love the soil inspector pictures.I have added you to my feed,so I won’t forget to visit.LOL  I enjoy visting Englands famous gadens through your eyes.

  6. Marie says:

    Thanks for the Ripe Tomato Chutney recipe.  I have copied it and saved it in my recipe file.  I just love chutneys and I do make my own.  My tomato chutney recipe calls for green tomatoes.
    Hugs, Marie

  7. Cheryl says:

    You had asked a question on my space a few days ago about conspiracy theories.  Here are some sites to visit.  Go fast before the government gets them offline. 
     

    http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=7866929448192753501&hl=en
    http://www.commondreams.org/views03/0416-01.htm
     

  8. Magick says:

    LOL…I just finished doing some housework and I was thinking to myself, that about 75% of my housework is caused by my 3 cats.  And then I read your comment about cats having staff….it was soooooooo appropriate….lol.
    Hugs….Diane.

  9. rachid says:

    hi susan, i hope you’re having a nice cosy evening in company of your loved ones..i wanted to thank you for adding me too..i am very fond of some good gardening and also a lots outdoor activities in some different kind of ways then yours but simply love to watch nature and see things growing..i will certainly come bck and read more of your entries soon, for the moment i am here to express my gratitude and wish you a very good evening !
     
    hugs from,
    rachid x

  10. Magick says:

    Yes…we are very blessed when it comes to my granddaughter Emily.  We thought we had lost her for sure.  But she’s a feisty little thing and today (except for the scar on her chest) you can’t tell there was ever anything wrong with her.
    Hugs…..Diane.

  11. Marie says:

    Hi Suki,
    Enjoyed looking at allt he paintings of Phil Hinde that you posted in your photo album.  Thank you for sharing them with us.
    Hugs, Marie

Leave a Reply

