The Spinnaker Tower

THE SPINNAKER TOWER
 

On our way back from our Devon holiday we visited my brother in Fareham and we had a day out on Portsmouth which included a visit to the Spinnaker Tower

  • Spinnaker Tower is a concrete, steel and composite structure that rises 170m from the sea adjacent to Gunwharf Quays. It has three tourist viewing platforms at heights of 100, 105 and 110m that offer extensive views over Portsmouth harbour and beyond.
  • It is constructed upon a 3m thick pile cap and founded on 84 piles, and comprises two inclined slip-formed hexagonal concrete shafts, of 6m across, which merge into a single shaft at 70m. One shaft contains an internal express lift and the other shaft carries a panoramic external lift up the seaward face. 
  • Two elegant crossed bows, fabricated from 10.8m long and 1.5m wide structural steel box sections, rise from the ground, cross between the shafts at 35m and rise to connect with the shaft at 120m. The bow dimensions vary from 10-12m in depth at the base and top of the tower, reducing to 2.5m wide in the central region. Aerofoil shaped ribs span between the bows to give the distinctive ‘Spinnaker’ sail appearance. 
  • A composite spire forms the needle-like top to the concrete A-frame.

 Thats the science dealt with!   This is an incredible structure, a lift whisks youto the first viewing platform where even on a dull day you have the most fabulous view, the dockyard was spread out below us where we could see famous ships such ar HMS Victory and HMS Warrior there was also an aircraft carrier in.   On this level the floor has a glass section through which you can see right down to the sea and boats below.

 

Another good thing about visting this tower is that it is situated right next to Gun Wharf Designer Shopping Village 

So if you get the oppertunity do go and visit this Tower If you want to know more there are two web sites you can visit

http://www.lusas.com/case/civil/spinnaker_tower.html

http://www.spinnakertower.co.uk/home.htm

Suki x

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
 
About brentwoodprop

Just loving life, carrying my camera and searching for beauty!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The Spinnaker Tower

  1. Dusty says:

    Brill pics Suki and what a great place – bit far for a day trip from here though!
    love the glass floor with the feet – what a drop………..and you are NOT fat
    love
    dusty
    x
     

  2. Longfella says:

    Nice to see you back–hope you had a good time. From the pics you had a super time taking super shoots. Brings back memories of a Navy Day visit at Pompey.

  3. Cheryl says:

    Beautiful pictures…I had to look and read since my youngest daughter lives on Spinnaker Avenue with her hubby and children. 

  4. Coffee With Kate says:

    So interesting….and nice photograph too.
    Hope you are keeping well.
    take care
    Kate.

  5. Cheryl says:

    On my right side side bar there is something called "My Best Photos".  If you go there sign up and they will take some of your pictures.  These places are stock exchange places so you don’t make money at it.  I will check outthis Shutterbug place or whatever it was called.

  6. Marie says:

    Welcome back Suki.  I enjoyed reading this entry.  The tower reminds me of the the Burj Al Arab Hotel in Dubai, UAE.
    Beautiful photos!!
    Hugs, Marie

  7. Magick says:

    Wow….that looks beautiful.  I’m not sure if I could bring myself to go up in it though, since I’m afraid of heights…lol.  I bet it would be a fabulous view.
    Hugs….Diane.

  8. Marie says:

    Thank you for the congratulatory note and kind encouraging words.  I do miss the time I spent with children while they were with me.  Unlike you, I do not have any grandchildren to spend time with for not one of my children are married.  They are so busy with their careers that they keep on putting off marriage.  Well, I just have to wait . . .LOL.  In the meantime, I still have my work, which I enjoy doing very much, to keep me busy, so it is not so bad.
    Hugs, Marie

  9. Deborah says:

    Great pictures!  When I get to England I will have to check it out.
    Blessed be,

  10. Unknown says:

    To the global wow gold the cheapest wow power leveling under the cheapest single-site! -18378181301374

Leave a Reply

