ALFONS MUCHA

Alfons Mucha 

1860 – 1939 

Alphons Mucha’s is an art of seduction.   His graceful women, delicate colours and decorative style add up to and unashamed act of temptation.

It is said of this poster for the Theatre de la Renaissance that Mucha took on the commission at short notice after Sarah Bernhardt on the afternoon of Christmas Eve had rejected a design, the performance in question – “Grismonda” by Sardou – was due to take place on 4th January 1895.  As an unknown artist he made and immediate impression, for Mucha it was a breakthrough

The poster above is for Mucha’s first one-man exhibition it is an example of his symbolism.  The young girl represents the visual arts, she shows us the heart which is threatened by thistles of stupidity, thorns of genius, and blossoms of love.  As a reference to his origins her bonnet is encircled with daisies which is a feature of Moravian folk-art 

Mucha is one of my favourite artists, and there is so much to say about him but I will let the pictures do the talking, there are more in the photo album, but keep watching I will add more about him and his work as time goes by  

Suki x

 

About brentwoodprop

Just loving life, carrying my camera and searching for beauty!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to ALFONS MUCHA

  1. Magick says:

    Looks like he was an extremely talented man.
    Hugs….Diane.

  2. William says:

    I certainly recognize the posters, billboards, never knew who created the style…….now I know.  Glad to see the little men made it safely across the pond, and back.  They are certainly something to watch………lol. 
    By the way, I hear Kevin Spacey is really wowing them at the Old Vic, A Moon for the Misbegotten, any comments, I hear it is a real treat, an there is a restaurant, at Theatre, the food is wonderful.
    I remain
    Bill……

  3. Magick says:

    Hi Suki:  I love being a Nana….it is magic like you say.  My granddaughter is going to be six in February….she’s in kindergarten now.  I love being around them…..they make me feel truly loved and appreciated.  I don’t think I’ve ever felt that from another human being in my life.
    Hugs….Diane.

  4. Longfella says:

    Vely interesting–haven’t met Mucha before.Can see why you like him.Will be watching for more.   Ta,Suki,–Rodders xx                                             

  5. Sheena's says:

    Hiya Suki,
    Just dropped by on the offchance & glad I did, will look out for more info. on Mucha.
    I’ve got my favourite prints on my pic’s , romanticism usually…
    Best wishes…
    Sheena…… 

  6. Coffee With Kate says:

    Hi there,
    apart from the fact that I enjoy reading your page, I this time, just popped by to let you know you have been tagged. read my page to find out why. I am looking forward to viewing the response.

  7. LAIRD says:

    Enjoyed the article – makes the ones I did for the childrens playschool christmas fayres a bit tacky !

  8. Marie says:

    I went to see his work when they were shown here in Tokyo several years ago.  I also think they are all beautiful.
    Hugs, Marie

Leave a Reply

