Spring is on the way

Warley Place  

Ellen Willmott’s Garden 

When I was a child we did not do the shopping by car but travelled to the town by bus, there was post war rationing and all we needed on our twice weekly shopping trips was two large shopping bags for the extended family of seven.   We would climb up the stairs to the top deck and to the front seats to get the best view.   In the spring the best view was Miss Willmott’s Garden, this was a private estate she had inherited from her father, and the view everyone wanted to see was the field at the edge of the road which in spring was a carpet of yellow and purple crocus.

  The family had been very wealthy but Ellen’s passion had been gardening, she travelled the world seeking out rare and exotic plants many of which are still found at Warley Place, and if you ever look at a plant catalogue you will find many plants have the suffix Willmotti and their discovery is attributed to Ellen.   How ever after her father’s death she spent so lavishly on the garden working teams of gardeners to make it exactly how she wanted it, the gorge was excavated to make into an alpine garden, and the rocks were imported from Yorkshire.   With the decline of the money and her health the garden fell into disrepair and with her death in 1934the neglected garden rapidly became overgrown and reverted to woodland.  

Warley place is now leased to The Essex Naturalist Trust who have carried out extensive refurbishment, there are thousands of daffodil bulbs planted and are a spectacular site as you can see from these pictures taken at the beginning of April last year.   On our visit this year it was the time for the snowdrops and other spring flowers  This is a quiet undisturbed garden and on our visit half way through the children’s half term we were the only visitors there. 

Here is the website I hope if you are ever this way in spring you will visit this very peaceful garden, let me know you are coming and I wil show you around?

http://www.essexwt.org.uk/sites/Warley%20Place.htm

 Lots more photos in the album 

 

 

 

About brentwoodprop

Just loving life, carrying my camera and searching for beauty!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Spring is on the way

  1. Dusty says:

    Lovely blog – well done with the pictures.  I was surprised to see the daffs  !!  but then read that  it was last year – I thought ‘you down there’ were a long way ahead of ‘us up here’ !
    Interested to read about  the garden – thank you.
    Enjoyed the fungus pictures too, as you knew I would.
    Om Shanti
    Dusty
    x
     

  2. Dusty says:

    AND – forgot to say – GREAT to read that they imported the rocks from good old Yorkshire !
    D
    x
     

  3. Magick says:

    Hi Suki:  What a beautiful garden.  I adore flowers; they’re one of my passions.  I can’t do a lot of gardening anymore; but I still have a couple of small gardens that I grow flowers in.  Life would be so sad without flowers.  My snowdrops are up right now and my daffodils.  Spring flowers are so lovely, but unfortunately, they don’t last very long.
    Hugs….Diane
    P.S.  I love the way you imbed your pictures into your blog.  I’ve tried to figure out how to do that, but I’ve been unsuccessful so far.

  4. YOGI says:

    Hi Suki,
     
    Looks a lovely place, it’s nice to know the story about what happend there, it would make it much more interesting when viviting.
     
    May be we’ll visit one day ?
     
    Hugs,
     
    YOGI

  5. Mei's says:

     
    Hello Suki, just passing by so I come in to look around, have a good week end. Mei

  6. Mei's says:

     
    Thank you for your comment. Mei

  7. Osin says:

    Hi Suki-just visting-have a great weekend
    Ossy

  8. Magenta says:

    What a beautiful garden. I love flowers and gardens so much you would never realize what an urbanized life I have led. Perhaps that is why I need them.

  9. Sheila says:

    Dear Suki,I have had the most enjoyable walk through Mrs. Wilmott’s Garden this morning and my guide was was so generous and informative!  Your pictures were lovely and my favorite was the "remodeled" conservatory (they look as though they have been framed and are ready for the parlor walls…). Thank you for sharing this, I feel as though I have been transported to the English country side…if only for a moment,hugs hugs Sheila

  10. Sheila says:

    Dear Suki,I have had the most enjoyable walk through Mrs. Wilmott’s Garden this morning and my guide was was so generous and informative!  Your pictures were lovely and my favorite was the "remodeled" conservatory (they look as though they have been framed and are ready for the parlor walls…). Thank you for sharing this, I feel as though I have been transported to the English country side…if only for a moment,hugs hugs Sheila

  11. Tani says:

    This looks like a marvelous garden.Even neglected those bulbs and hardy perrenials had to just spread with wild abandon.I imagine large drifts of color,Ahhh

  12. Longfella says:

    Enjoyed that,Suki–good read.Often wondered what Miss Willmotts history was having seen so many references to her in plant names.
    Thanks. xx

  13. Cindy says:

    Beautiful!!  Daffodils are my favorite … the color of sunshine.  Hurry Spring!!
     
    Thank you for visiting and your lovely comments.
     
    Cindy
     

  14. Cheryl says:

    Your space is beautiful.  I love the color, graphics and of course the flowers.  Thanks for visiting my space and I put you in my RSS reader so I will be sure to know when you update your space.

  15. Nooner™ says:

     
    HaHaHa .. I even had "myself" fooled .. LOL ..
     
    ~Nooner~
     

  16. Marie says:

    Beautiful!! I love Spring and I think that it is indeed the best time of the year. 
    Hugs, Marie

  17. Coffee With Kate says:

    popping in to say hello and to also let you know that I think the new picture of you is beautiful. And as usual enjoy reading your page.
    Until next time
    Kate.

  18. Nooner™ says:

     
    Hi Suki,
     
    Thought I’d stop by once again to read about Warley Place once again and view the pics. Gorgeous!
     
    ~Nooner~
     

  19. John says:

    Happy St Davids day!!

  20. Osin says:

    Thats a cool jazzy version of the song, I like that. TY
    Ossy

  21. Osin says:

    Thats a cool jazzy version of the song, I like that. TY
    Ossy

  22. John says:

    Thanks for the visit Suki…Spring is deffo on the way…Don’t think I’ve seen Snowdrops and Daffs out so early!!!

  23. Mei's says:

     
    Hello Shelly, love your photos in the kew garden, I miss the kew garden on tv two weeks ago, I think you’ve made up for the miss. Have a good weekend! Mei

  24. Longfella says:

    Just enjoyed your Kew photos–brilliant.Thanks for taking and showing them all–cannot wait to pay a visit there,maybe later this year.The quality and variety is great.Thanks once again.
    Rod xx

Leave a Reply

