Wisteria Histeria

WISTERIA HISTERIA  

Some years ago I decided I would like a Wisteria growing around my front door, I thought waterfalls of blue flowers would so look so beautiful.   So we duly went to the Garden Centre and chose a healthy strong growing plant.   We dug a big hole and added all the necessary fertiliser and compost planted and watered it and it started to grow.   Yes it grew up the front of the house over the porch up the side over the bedroom window tried to grow inside the bedroom in to the gutter and up onto the roof.   No flowers the first year or the second year or third year.    Then it twisted its self around the telephone wire disconnecting our phone and our Computer .   Still no flowers, many friends sympathised saying it sometimes takes a long time for a wisteria to establish and have flowers, daughter bought a new house, “Guess what Mum, we have a beautiful wisteria in full bloom”  GRRR!   Friends would send me picture of their wisteria in full bloom.    Then one day on arriving home I spotted them, three flowers, very small and insignificant but most definitely flowers, I jumped for joy got on the phone to every one “My wisteria has flowers on it” I shouted down the phone, somebody pointed out it was an unusual time of year for it to be in bloom.  Hmmmmmmmm, yes, I took a closer look and a closer look I could see some string!   Yes Sis-in-law had bought silk flowers and Hubbs had tied them on, well was my face red, but not as red as his by the time I had finished!    So his forfeit was he had to take down the huge tree which covered half the house and was all leaves and no flowers and buy me a new one.   And here it is in all its glory!   Well worth the wait I should say.

If you have enjoyed this please visit Marie’s space  Which contains beautiful wisteria and peony pictures in her photo album and blog about Hamanikyu park in Japan.

http://touchingbeauty.spaces.live.com/PersonalSpace.aspx  

 

 

Om Shanti  

 

About brentwoodprop

Just loving life, carrying my camera and searching for beauty!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Wisteria Histeria

  1. Coffee With Kate says:

    Good Morning Suki, I love the wisteria story; the photographs are beautiful too. Hey…it was such fun chatting to you this morning; we should do it more often.
    Take care and have a fun and relaxing day, it is going to be a hot one here. xxx

  2. Coffee With Kate says:

    Hi Suki,
    Thanks for your recent visit and comment.  I have responded on my page as it may have some value for other people too.
    Enjoy the rest of your day.

  3. Sarah says:

    Hi Suki,I’ve had the same thing done to me, ppl notice when you’re permanently checking & looking out of the window simply waiting for a flower to appear ….. meanies !.You’re quite right about the roof …… the minute everything starts to grow it’s v. easy to pretend you’re somewhere else apart of course from all the screaming children I seem to be surrounded by on every side.It’s most peculiar because I don’t remember any of my siblings and I simply opening our mouths and screaming as a form of communication.I’ve also noticed that more & more wildlife seems to be coming into the city. I spent most of last spring "babysitting" a bluetit’s nest. The local mog kept putting his paw into their nest, trying to grab dinner.I’ve just been out on a trial test run on my new bike. I’ve got awful sciatica but can pedal O.K. It’s when you get off the bike…. OUCH !!!.I hope you have a fun day,love Sarah X

  4. Kenneth says:

    Hi Suki.
                  Patience is the name of the game, all good things are worth waiting for, I am sure your  beautiful Wisteria shall bloom, one day.
    When we plant a tree or lay a lawn we are not doing it just for our own enjoyment, the next generation
    shall reap the reward of your labour, for many years to come people shall look and see the beauty you have left for them, "that" is a beautiful thing in itself.
     
    Kenny x
     
     

  5. Magick says:

    Hi Suki:
    I have wisteria at the front of my place and I love it.  The only drawback I find is it has such a short flowering season.  You really do have to keep a good eye on it and trim it regularly to get it to go where you want it to, otherwise, it will take over.  It does take a few years for it to flower.  LOL…I got a really good laugh at the story of hubs tying the flowers on with string!!
    Hugs…Diane.

  6. Penny says:

    Hi Suki
     
    I loved this story, they certainly like to play practical jokes on you.   The reason why the first wisteria did not bloom probably was because it was grown from a seed they need to be grafted onto good root stock.   When buying wisteria look just above the rootball for a lump on the stem where the graft is.   Did you buy the first one from a market or boot sale???
     
    Well your new one is really beautiful
     
    Om shanti my friend
     
    Penny x
     
     

  7. Dusty says:

    Super story Suki – sure is brill now! – beautiful even – all worth it in the end eh?
    (We did a similar thing with mum-in-law – tied some plums onto her new tree – she was gobsmacked!  LOL )
    Love
    Dusty
    x
     
     

  8. Embrace says:

    Hi Suki,
    Amazing this plant is and wont grow here. I find it is beautiful beyon words and loved this blog.
    Thanks for the tip of the tea bags. I had know this  but forgot. How I forgot I dont know but wont next time. . and sure there will be. My eyes healed fine and it was painful at times .
    Hope your week has started good and love the photos all of them ,
    HUgs
    Lisa

  9. Bittersweet on-the-hill. says:

    Good morning Suki…..
     
    I love wisteria!  You pictures are magnificent.  I love the pictures and your home. Certainly a home you can emjoy….and the grounds and woods are lovely.  I hope you have lots of owls in that owl box.!
     
    I love the idea of your herb garden.  It is giving me thoughts about my garden and planters.  Our spring has finally come and we are expecting several days of gorgious weather.  So it is outdoors for me this afternoon.   Enjoy your gardens.  Peace.  Bittersweet on-the-hill.

  10. Polly says:

    Hi Suki,
    I stopped by to see the wisteria. It’s beautiful. Things seem all the more interesting and special when they have stories of friends entwined.
    I love all the photos of your garden, it looks like a real haven for the fairy folk.
    Take care.
    Polly

  11. Cindy says:

    Holy Bloomin’ Wisteria, Suki … that was a mean trick … nice you got a lovely tree out of it in the end.
     

  12. John says:

    Hi Suki, thanks for dropping by…and no….Burdman’s scrawny chicken legs are staying well under wraps!!! Great story and pics, (As usual!!!) 😀

  13. Mei's says:

     
    Hello Suki, thanks for dropping by and leave your kind comment, you’re always welcome, and your space are lovely too. Mei

  14. meg says:

    *giggle* what a great story- it was a kind gesture, however misleading 🙂
    My MIL had wisteria growing on the outside of her small house & we were forever cutting it back to keep it from taking the roof off 😛 but I never had a lack of vine wreath bases for years.

  15. John says:

    Hi Suki, loved the story-boarding comments on my pics! You have a great weekend 😀

  16. Cheryl says:

    You have the same camera as I have.  I bought 2 lenses for mine.  The first was a Canon 70-300 zoom with image stabilization.  I think it was about $800.  I use that for almost all my shots.  I never use the lens that came with the camera anymore.  My other lens is a Phoenix macro 100 mm which is made for my camera.  It cost $144 online.  I do all my flowers, bugs, etc with it.  it is the lens I just used today to do the flowers.  This weekend I plan on buying an extender.  The extender is a magnifier actually.  I will use it with my zoom lens.  It will turn my zoom into a 300-1200.  That means I can shoot a deer a football field away and still get the color of his eyes.  Now I might loose a little quality with the extender but it sure beats paying thousands for such a lens.  I am satisfied with my macro although it is not rated real high.  Any questions just holler.  The real experts are Bored Barb, Lisa-Back at the Ranch and Tani-Aplseed Garden.  They are all Canon users and much smarter than I am in the various things you can do with your new camera.

  17. Tani says:

    It is a beautiful plant.So worth the wait.Could it be that lack of sun and fertilizer made it grow green growth and sacrificed the flowers? Wisteria is such a bruiser.Had to laugh about your tele line,LOL
    I hear you took the plunge and bought a canon rebel XT.I am so happy for you.You will not believe how your photos will improve.The camera just has so many capabilities.I have the 70-300mmUSm IS lens and I love it.The IS helpswith camera shake.If that is not in your desires or budget they make a non IS in a similar length.If you dont mind exploring the after market lenses,I could suggest a 28-200mm zoom by SIgma.It would give you a wide range and be a multi purpose lens.When I am searching for a new lens I google reviews for my different choices then choose the one with the best reviews for the money.I can tell you I am exstatic with my sigma macro lens.
    I might suggest this photography class.It is great . http://www.lvsassociates.com/register/product_info.php?products_id=78 
    Happy clicking.

  18. William says:

    I love WISTERIA, we have curtians of it in the south,  not only smells so wonderful, it is georgous up in the pine-trees, along the country roads.  My garden is now 3 weeks behind schedual, and from the looks of it, will be a full month before planting is done.
    Bill……..

  19. Unknown says:

    Amberdigital Branch,Southern Stars Enterprises Co is specializing in the development and manufacturing of ad players, advertisement player and LCD advertisings. Established in 1996, we have explored and developed the international market with professionalism. We have built a widespread marketing network, and set up a capable management team dedicated to provide beyond-expectation services to our customers.

    amberdigital Contact Us
    Southern Stars Enterprises Co (Hong Kong Office)
    Add:3 Fl, No.2, Lane 2, Kam Tsin Tsuen, Sheung Shui, Hong Kong
    Tel:+852 2681 4099
    Fax:+852 2681 4586
    Southern Stars Enterprises Co (Shenzhen Office)
    Add:DE, 16/F, Building 2, Nanguo Tower, Sungang Road, Shenzhen, China
    Tel:+86 755 2592 9100
    Fax:+86 755 2592 7171
    E-mail:sstar@netvigator.com
    website:www.amberdigital.com.hk
    alibaba:amberdigital.en.alibaba.com[ba

  20. Unknown says:

    To the global wow gold the cheapest wow power leveling under the cheapest single-site! -18320503685401

  21. Unknown says:

    Hi,Do you need advertising displays, screen advertisings, digital sign, digital signages and LCDs? Please go Here:www.amberdigital.com.hk(Amberdigital).we have explored and developed the international market with professionalism. We have built a widespread marketing network, and set up a capable management team dedicated to provide beyond-expectation services to our customers.
    amberdigital Contact Us
    website:www.amberdigital.com.hk
    alibaba:amberdigital.en.alibaba.com[fihffbahghdaj]

  22. Unknown says:

    Hi,Do you need advertising displays, screen advertisings, digital sign, digital signages and LCDs? Please go Here:www.amberdigital.com.hk(Amberdigital).we have explored and developed the international market with professionalism. We have built a widespread marketing network, and set up a capable management team dedicated to provide beyond-expectation services to our customers.
    amberdigital Contact Us
    website:www.amberdigital.com.hk
    alibaba:amberdigital.en.alibaba.com[gfeaejgbabcbec]

Leave a Reply

