Down on the Allotment

 

Down on the Allotment  

Now is the time that everything is starting to grow down on the allotment most of the hard work has been done, and now it is up to Mother Nature to do her stuff with a little help from us.  

 
This is Beryl Cooks view of The Allotment which is quite right it portrays happy and contented people enjoying the products of their labours, in a micro community of like minded people. 

But what you get out of the ground depends on what you put in!  So when we heard of a 8 year hold manure heap we went along to the stables to find out more, yes said the owner of the stable yard please help yourself all I ask is that you close the gates to keep the horses safe. 

 
Here is the security gate! and here is a contributor to the Allotment!
 
 

These are mainly old horses in retirement spending their remaining years happily doing nothing and being petted by the local people.  

We moved through the gate and to you this may look like a pleasant path through woodland, well it is a rising path to the top of the heap, there is a 12ft drop over the side!

 
There it was beautiful stuff like black peat not a sign of what it had been previously, well we filled as many plastic bags as we could and piled them into the back of the Dream Machine (Volvo). and cautiously, with the springs very low on the ground made our way back to the road.  Now we live in a country area, but that does not mean the roads are quiet – far from it, we decided we must drive very carefully as having to slam the breaks on could have disastrous effects, we could end up covered in S**T! HEHE
 
 Back at the Allotment decisions on what to put where.  

So if you want to see how my garden grows, keep and eye on this blog as I shall be adding to it  

Love 

 
                                                      
About brentwoodprop

Just loving life, carrying my camera and searching for beauty!
This entry was posted in Hobbies. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Down on the Allotment

  1. Dusty says:

    Lovely blog Suki thank you.  M liked the gate – better than his he says.
    You should have fantastic produce with all that sh***
    Lovely pictures
    Om Shanti  x  3
    Dusty
    x
     

  2. Kenneth says:

    Hi Suki.
                 I can relate to the horse…"happily doing nothing and being petted", yep that sounds like me. But your poor hubby looks like he is doing all the work, I can imagine you as being something of a slavedriver, while you sit in the sun with your whip eating all the strawberries lol.
    It is soooooooo   rewarding to sit down to a meal that the ingredience of  has bean produced by oneself, even more so when one has hunted and  cought the meat too. ( fish)
     
    Brilliant sunshine again today, don’t you just love it.
                                                                                     big warm hugs from Kenny.x
     

  3. Mei's says:

     
    Hello Suki, hadn’t seen you visit for a while, hope all is well, love this post, I was joking to my hubby just now, both our hubby are doing the hard job like Kenny said "a slave driver" in the veggie patch, so I don’t feel guilty now, haha. Good day! Mei

  4. Magick says:

    Yeahhhhh!!  I’ve been waiting to hear stories of your allotment this year.  That’s what you were blogging about when I first met you here in blogland last year.  I’m glad the horsey-poo landed safe and sound in the garden and not all over you…lol.
    Hugs…Diane.

  5. Michiko's says:

    Hi Suki,
    It’s big different then a beautiful the flower garden isn’t it? this is more for day by day on your food that you can makes
    a beautiful healthy dinner for your family …I saws the strawberry that I used grows very well …so much then I made a jam from fresh strawberry….they are beautiful ..I loveed the veg garden that I spent a lots of time in the garden.
    I used to grow most of thing in the garden ..when we had BBQ in my home the salad was all them come from my garden ha ha ….
    even the snow peas too.it was a long time ago when children were young .
    Have a wonderful week for you,
    Michiko
     

  6. swamp says:

    Afternoon Suki, great pictures. Love that one of the security gate.  lol  Be interesting to see how the allotment progresses.
    Enjoy the rest of the day  🙂

  7. Coffee With Kate says:

    I just love that gate; the picture produced a head back roar of laughter. thanks. it is so fantastic to grow ones own produce and to cook with it to produce wonderful meals.
    Clifton House is back to normal, guests departed and getting back to the usual rhythem. Luckily they enjoyed mostly excellent weather conditones while here. Today however we are expereincing very stormy and cold conditons; the sea looks frothy and angry too.Take care lovely person xxx

  8. gamaliel says:

    todo esto esta muy hermoso la tranquilidad con la que se debe de vivir alli que envidia yo vivo en mexcio en baja california muchos saludos Sra/    este es mi correo   mendigo47@hotmail.com
    atte. Rene

  9. Suki x says:

    This is the translation for the on below, I am getting very international!
     

    (without name) all this this very beautiful the tranquillity with which alli is due to live that I envy I live in mexcio in Baja California many greetings Mrs. this is my mail mendigo47@hotmail.com atte.

  10. Cindy says:

    Wonderful blog, Suki … got a good laugh out of the SECURITY gate … lovely pony.   I miss growing my own veggies especially tomatoes.  Nothing tastes better than a fresh tomato from the garden.  Yum!
     
    Enjoy!
     

  11. Bittersweet on-the-hill. says:

    Hello Suki,
     
    I love your gardening efforts!  There is nothing like aged horse manure! Our garden is almost in ….just a few more things I’d like to get in.  Otherwise it is the farmer’s market.
     
    I hope all is well with you.  Be well and take care.   Bittersweet

  12. Renuka says:

    Love pics and account of all the pains you are taking, I am sure you will have lovely veg and crop and more pics to show us…wishing you all the best

  13. Embrace says:

    Hi ,
    Very nice blog with your garden that mother Nature and you are taking care of.
    Hugs
    Lisa

  14. swamp says:

    Afternoon Suki. Still busy with the allotment? Has been good growing weather recently; especially the weeds.  lol  They always seem to grow, no matter what.
    Enjoy the rest of the weekend  🙂

  15. Coffee With Kate says:

    Hi Suki, I have to say I do enjoy the wonderful, warm, ‘crazy’, people who frequent my page. I love them all and that includes you. I look forward to reading about your trip.
    Take care and enjoy the week ahead. xxxx

  16. Delete52Mitch says:

    What a wonderful spread you have! Glad to see you’re growing vegetables, too. I’ve got about 800 square feet under cultivation in my back yard and I enjoy it immensely. Incidentally, I worked in Venezuela with a niece of Beryl Cook. Best of luck from Alabama!

  17. Sheila says:

    Dear Suki,am trying to catch up on my English friend!  I loved the Wisteria Histeria! SIL and Hubby do have bigs hearts…I guess, but it worked out in the end! Wisteria is plentiful here and although it is lovely smelling and so pretty,we must work hard to keep it under control (like our ivy).  Your allotment seems to be coming along nicely. What do you have planted?  How exactly does an "allotment" work?  Do you have to rent the land?  Since we don’t have anything here similar (I don’t think, unless we call it tenant farmer’s and they usually work large plots and sell their produce for profit) this idea is very unusual to me. I hope you are enjoying your new camera, as for me, I got a little camera shy and bolted at the last minute…Your pictures are beautiful, I especially loved the one of the umberella toting people in your English rain, funny that, have never heard the term "American rain"!!  And the photo and story about the the Celtic maiden is so very interesting.  Imagine carving that intricately detailed image from a single block!!Let me know how you are doing and liking your new camera,have missed you,your NC friend,Sheila

  18. Unknown says:

    Hi! Sue, Bob here surfing your web site. Didn’t take you long to get the NA pics up.
    What a load of old stuff you do put on your allotment!! Look forward to the ‘after’ pics in the summer

Leave a Reply

