Rousham Park

 

Rousham Park

 
 
In June this year we visited the Rousham Park located in Oxfordshire known as the most beautiful garden in England

Designed by the Royal Gardener Charles Bridgeman  in 1719

It is renown for its walled garden and diversity of plants.

Old English roses with their heady fragrance

Not a slug has been near these Hostas

The climbing roses entwine around the arched walkway providing a tranquil place to stop and breathe in the beauty around you

These poppies are my favourite colour I believe they are called Patty’s Plum

 

 

What would we do with out these friendly pollinators?

Or indeed the hard working gardeners?

And this handsome fellow was not bothered by us being there atall

 

The House was built in 1635 by Sir Robert Dormer and is still owned and occupied by the same family.

 

I hope you have enjoyed walking around this garden with me, photographing flowers is one of my favourited occupations, come and visit me often.

 

 

 

 

 

About brentwoodprop

Just loving life, carrying my camera and searching for beauty!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Rousham Park

  1. Delete52Mitch says:

    Great pictures! Great park. I bet that bird would be great eating, too! (I’m told they’re similar to turkey.) Much love from Alabama!

  2. swamp says:

    Morning Suki, some superb pics as usual. It looks a great place to go. Hostas with no slugs? A testiment to the hard working gardeners I think.
    I’m glad you’re enjoying the solaf; something I wrote a few years ago, and had a lot of fun doing it. About half way through the tale so far.
    Enjoy the rest of the day  🙂

  3. Coffee With Kate says:

    Good Morning Suki, some very nice photographs with informative captions; always nice to view and read. Yes the colour of the poppies is most beautiful.
    Thanks for visiting and commenting on the blog “Are your thought of Abundance or Lack” I reveals much about the people who commented; I particularly enjoyed your and Abraxas comments, it shows your attitude toward life and you can be assured of enjoying more of the same.
    Take care and have a beautiful day.
    Warm hugs
    Kate

  4. Mei's says:

    Morning Suki, how are you? Lovely photos again, the bird are tall!!! I always love to visit here, you always have some beautiful photos for us to share. Thank you. Have a nice time for the rest of week! Mei

  5. wishin.star says:

    Perhaps Perhaps Perhaps!Love this song and the flowers in Rousham Park you described on top 🙂 My favourite ones are the Old English Roses!Since my neighbour bought me a lil sunflower, I started a new "job" during my weekends!I like to cure my plants and watch ’em grow little by little, it kinda makes me happy.Hugs,
    missunshine

  6. Cindy says:

    Incredible photo of the peacock, Suki.  I’d love to be able to wander around all these gardens with you.  Just gorgeous!
     
     

  7. Kenneth says:

    Hello Suki.
                    Thank you for bringing so much colour and beauty into my morning, just love pattys plums.
    Have a wonderful weekend.
    From your friend   Kenny.x

  8. Embrace says:

    Hey , I m just here to tell you to have great weekend , and the photos in the blog are breathtaking.
    Im on the go today. I will be back tomorrow to have aother look and  your album. 🙂 Suki you are very talented my dear 🙂
    Hugs always
    Lisa and see you tomorrow.

  9. Magick says:

    Hi Suki:
    Absolutely gorgeous pictures of such a tranquil place and the music you have playing is beautiful.  We have a lot of peacocks in the park near where I live.  I love it when they open up their tails.  My Mom can get them to do that just by whistling a certain way….I don’t have the knack I’m afraid…lol.
    Hugs….Diane.

  10. Mei's says:

     
    Hello Suki, thank you for your kind comment and visit, hope you have a wonderful weekend with your family! Mei 

  11. Bittersweet on-the-hill. says:

    Hello Suki…..
    Great pictures!  You do well with the camera!  I love the color of Patty’s Plum. It’s like raspberry – it has a unique color. It sounds as if your summer is going well.  Stay well and enjoy those gardens.  Impressive indeed.    Bittersweet. 

  12. swamp says:

    Afternoon Suki.
    Poor solaf indeed.  lol  Two more chapters to go, and that’s it.
    Sun is out today for a change. Enjoy the rest of the day 🙂 

  13. Magick says:

    Hiya Suki:
    I agree with you….I liked it better when you clicked on "my space" and it went right to your space.  Now it opens up on some silly spread sheet.  Grumble, grumble, grumble…lol.
    Hugs….Diane. 

  14. Sheila says:

    Miss Suki,I can smell the thick frangrance of the roses and would love to wipe away the dew on the hostas.  These pictures make me want to take a long saunter through this well manicured garden.  It its lovely to enjoy mother nature’s beauty, but there is also a respect for the dedication of the human spirit when it comes to the effort exerted here.  I love the picture of the formal lines of hedges, lots of man hours there!  Your peacock looks as though he is a sentry on guard duty, keeping a watchful eye.  What icredible heritage attached to this home and estate, to continue in the same blood line.  Thank you Suki for coming by and leaving your lovely comment (you don’t have to like running, just be there with me in spirit-I’m gonna need all the spirit I can muster! giggle).  Thinking of you from here in lil’ old North Carolina,Sheila 

  15. Bittersweet on-the-hill. says:

    Just stepping through the tulips!  Yes, I have been listening to the news on the flooding of England.  The pictures are heartbreaking.  So much loss of home and property.
    Our summer has been very much on the cool side with more than its share of rain. Almost 7 inches this month and we still have a week until the end of the month.
    Our tomatoes are slowly wrippening and local corn has been quite good. I fear we let the basal run and now it is mostly seed. Too bad since I would have loved to make some pesto. Thank God for the farmer’s market.
    Life has been quiet except for the fact that I am looking at a 4 month old Australian Shepherd.  It just seems as if a country home should have a dog!  We had an Aussie once before and we loved her – Sidney….so I think I’ll spring for her. A little activity wouldn’t hurt us at all.
    Well, I hope you get more warmth and sunshine.  Be well.   Bittersweet 

  16. BH says:

    Those photos are breathtaking.  I came over by way of Sheila in North Carolina.   You two have to be some of the best photographers on Spaces!!
     
    I’m glad I came by 😉
     
    Cheers,
    BH

  17. Kenneth says:

    Thank you for the link Suki…only in the north east, cough…cough. I am embarrassed now but i think I shall be able to live with it.
    hahaha.
    love Kenny.x
    ps.  Can you be friends and not friends with someone at the same time ?

  18. Dusty says:

    Hi Suki – at last I got to visit this lovely blog (I have been away as you will know and will try to get some pictures on soon)
    These are really lovely photos – well done – and what a great place to browse round – I would love it too.  Keep on taking these fab pictures.
    Love
    Dusty
    x
     

  19. Marie says:

    Beautiful park and beautiful photos.
    Thank you for the guided tour.  I loved it.
    Hugs, Marie   

  20. Michiko's says:

     Hi Suki,
    Thank you for visits and leaving your kind comments, I wasn’t surprised the beautiful the flower’s the poppies with the bees,
    and the peacock we have so many of in here But not same as your photos that it must be an especially ones.
    The gardeners is lucky man just thought he worked the peaceful places…
    Thank you for sharing them to us,
    Michiko

  21. daniel says:

    SUKI have a fantastic friday
    and a buzzing weekend
    your so very special and my buzzing friend 
    Loving SUKI more  DANIEL ☜666☞ ۞ANGEL۞ ★´`’.

     magic in the arms that hold
    And tell me not to cry.
    There is magic in your voice
    When you talk to me each day.
    There is magic in your smile
    And in the things you say.
    there is magic in the way
    You let me be myself with you.
    There is magic that you teach me
    To be good and brave and true.
    I am growing older
    And soon I’ll go away,
    But the magic that you teach me
    SUKI will stay with me forever 

    LOVING SUKI  MORE DANIEL ANGEL 666
    ________________.OO.__________ ________________.OOO.____________.O. * .* . ________________.OOOO.______-.OOO. * .* .. ________________.OOOOO._-.OOOO. * .* .. _______________.OOOOOOOOOOO. * . * . * __________-.OOOOOOOOOOOOO. * .* .._____.OOOOOOOO0000000OOOO. * . * . * . __________-.OOOOOOOOOOOOO. * . * . * .. _______________.OOOOOOOOOOO. * . * . * ..HAVE A BUZZING WEEKEND________________.OOOOO._-.OOOO. * . *. * ________________.OOOO.______-.OOO. * .* .. ________________.OOO.____________.O. * . *.. ________________.OO._____________________________.O.____________
    LOVING YOU MORE DANIEL۞ANGEL۞LOVING YOU MORE ★´`’.¸ ★.  

  22. Coffee With Kate says:

    Wishing you a great week-end. 

  23. ♥ Aimee says:

    beautiful… 
    *~* :o) smiles are contagious… :o) so pass one on … :o) soon the whole world will be smiling… :o) *~*
     

  24. Peter says:

    Hi SukiI can see why Rousham Park is known as the most beautiful garden in England. What a lovely place and fantastic photos.I will have to give it a visit someday too !Thanks for the good wishes. Your blog has some lovely pictures on it.Gardening is something I used to enjoy quite a bit too.Have a good weekend !Peter

  25. Sheila says:

    Had to come by quick like and wish you a glorious weekend, from across the pond
    My very closest of friends (who is from outside of London) is there in England right now and I miss her incredibly, could you give a shout real loud to Jennie for me (she won’t IM with me!).  She made me think of you!
    How are things at the allotment?
    You must let me know what is "in" right about now for veggies.
    take care Suki
    Hugs,
    Sheila 

  26. Shanna says:

    Found your space by traveling around a bit – I love your peacock picture and the gardens are beautiful!  Have a good weekend, thanks for sharing!! :o)

  27. William says:

     Oh how georgous the  Rousham Park is.  Particularly loved the poppies.  As a child, Mother grew them, but now, they are illegal in USA.  May be some type of hybrids available, but understand they not come close to those from the 60’s.  Loved the Peacock, so vain aren’t they, I would suppose they know their beauty……lol.
      Best thing we have in Georgia now, are mosquitos, and they are a blood-thirsty bunch.  Seemingly they thrive on "bug-spray". 
    Take care and thanks for the links previously, found really wonderful information, oral history on WW2, thanks again.
    I remain………Bill

  28. jason says:

    ace site 

  29. Renuka says:

    Simply superb and out of the world. Thanks for sharing the pics with us. Thanks for visiting my space. I have been travelling in and out of town and many times do not access to internet hence the delay in replying. I have missed you friends and yes your changed picture is very nice. Wishing you lots of happiness and peace. take care my friend, peace and happiness for your lovely family…. 

  30. Kenneth says:

    Hi  Suki.
                    I have never had reason or opportunity to enter the wild and mysterious Essex, but I have heard much of its goings on.
    I understand it is a beautiful part of England and I am sure populated by beautiful people.
    re: the apes, it is a out and out disgusting and unforgivable crime and as you say for it to happen in a supposedly safe area makes it all the more heines.
     
    I lived in London for just a short time, I worked on London bridge when they were dismantling it to send to America, if you remember they thought they had bought Tower bridge. lol.
    Have a great weekend Suki
     love and best wishes to you and yours.
    love Kenny x
     
                     

  31. Embrace says:

    Hi Suki,
    Lovely new album. Flowers are always so  much fun to take photos of  at different angles. My life is getting so busy here that I havent touched my camera in days and missing the poor girl.
    Hope you have a great weekend.
    Love Lisa 

  32. ali says:

    Thank you very much for this wonderful albums .. With
    best wishes for a happy life for you and your family

Leave a Reply

