All around me

 

I thought this was most unusual, a bright green moth settled onGarden in July 003 our patio doors we think it is a Large Emerald if anyone know different please let me know, I have never seen one like it before could it be rare?   Help and comments very welcome.   Here is a picture taken fromGarden in July 001 in doors showing the underside, if you click on it and view the larger picture you can see that it has bright red eyes and long feelers.

I live in a small village tucked way in the EsseGarden in June 004x countryside, and we have many visitors to our garden.   The Gray Squirrel has completely taken over in this part of the world never the less he provides lots of entertainment, as do the birds that visit our feeding area, here is a Collar Dove who regularly visits with his wife, Garden in July 013 very pretty gentle birds. 

  The local park provides great entertainment for the grandchildren not only swings and roundabouts but a football field and wild walks through woodland and fielNature 001ds with neck high (if you are three feet tall) grasses and wild flowers.  We came across these lovely fungi no idea what they are someone may be able to tell me, also plenty of tSky 002ahease, we will never be late home for tea when we tell the time with a dandelion clock.   One last little fellow we must not forget, we found him limping along the road and making a dash for the neighbors drive way, we used to see hedgehogs all the time years ago but this is the first one Nature 008I have seen for years, we tried to catch him to see if we could do anything for his leg but he ran away so fast I think nature will cure it’s self!

There is plenty more I can tell you about where I live but I fear yo will get so bored,  more another time

So come walk with me through the pleasant county of ESSEX 

About brentwoodprop

Just loving life, carrying my camera and searching for beauty!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to All around me

  1. Delete52Mitch says:

    Dear Suki. I don’t think I’ve ever seen one like it. Must not have them around here! Great pictures! Looks like you’re getting plenty of rain, though. Y’all are real lucky. They’re already picking cotton here — no use waiting, the drought has messed everything up. Best wishes from Alabama. Mitch

  2. ♥ Aimee says:

     don’t know what it is but it’s a nice colour that is for sure…
    *~* :o) smiles are contagious… :o) so pass one on … :o) soon the whole world will be smiling… :o) *~*
     

  3. BH says:

    Interesting moth you’ve found.  It’ll be interesting to hear if it’s rare.  We have tons of squirrels in our area as well.  This year we’ve had an outbreak of cottontail rabbits.  They’ve left our garden alone as far we can tell plus the kids get a kick out of trying to chase and catch them.  (Ha!  It’ll never happen!  It’s good for the kids to run though!)  We’ve had some doves nesting near our house this summer.  Not too far away we’ve have a couple pairs of Osprey nesting as well.  They’re not quite as big as a bald eagle but they’re beautiful nonetheless. 
     
    Cheers,
    BH 

  4. Magick says:

    Hi Suki:
    I get lots of little visitors to my garden also….squirrels, raccoons, birds…..I love to sit in my own yard and watch Nature at it’s best.
    Sorry I haven’t been around much lately….I’m not in a very good space right now.
    Hugs….Diane. 

  5. Embrace says:

    Hi Suki,
    Very interesting Moth or Butterfly and great shot. Hope you can identify it.
    as for the fungi  I think they are muchrooms arent they 🙂 .
    The little critter is very cute  also. Hope you have a great day and keep taking these wonderfull photos.
    Love Lisa 

  6. Coffee With Kate says:

    Hello Suki, I loved this little preamble, can’t help you with the moth or the fungi. I have to say you painted an interesting picture in my head of Kenny doing a Tarzan trick!
    Take care
    Kate xx 

  7. Cindy says:

    Beautiful moth … lovely shade of green … my favorite color.  Your village sounds wonderful.  My sweetheart has a hummingbird feeder and every evening five or six of them dive and swoop challenging each other for the best spot to fee.  It’s quite a show with the sunlight showing off their best colors.  I’m not the photo journalist you are but I try taking some photos.
      

  8. swamp says:

    Morning Suki.
    Just splashing by to say hello. I’ve been away from spaces for a while, for various reasons, (so a lot of catching up to do), but I think I’m back in some way or the other.
    Some great pictures on here again. Not sure of the green moths name; had something similar here a while ago. Did a Google picture search and the best I came up with was……green moth.  lol
    Have a great weekend.  🙂 

  9. YOGI says:

     Hi Suki,
    What a fantastic blog, as usual, sorry don’t like butterflies moths, etc, but they are great photos. Hope you and yours are keeping well,I’m still working hard, some small problems, but Im sure we’ll get there.
    Big HUgs,
    YOGI XX

  10. Sheila says:

    Dear Suki,please don’t ever think we could get bored with your descriptions!  I find that no matter how mundane I think some of my information is (and of course it is to me, that is why I am here at your blog for a fresh perspective!), there is always someone out there that finds something unusual or interesting about those things that are every day to me.  Every heard of a shrimp burger?
    Your poor hedge hog,  we had looked into getting a hedge hog from a local pet store, but found how fragile they are here and how much care they needed.  They sure are cute!!! The children and I watch real old reruns of Last of the Summer Wine, and my son says he wants a ferret someday (you know how Compo had one!)
    I loved your butterfly album from the wildlife park and was that some kind of a kookaburra on your head or were you just having a bad hair day-giggle (is this an expression you use in England?).
    I have so enjoyed catching up with you, looked like so much fun with the pedicure (very pretty) and the friends you got to spend the day with, that is so special.  Space friends are great, they broaden our horizens…but you can’t replace those friends that look you in the eye and sometimes tell you like it is!Come by Suki, when you get a break from those other friends (smiling coyly) and please tell me of the Dandelion Clock…I have never heard of this.luv and hugs,Sheila 

  11. Dusty says:

     Hi Suki – have only just seen this excellent blog – loved it.
    I will do my best to try and identify your finds.
    Hugs
    Dusty
    x
     

  12. Coffee With Kate says:

    Good Morning Suki, I hope you had a lovely week-end. Have you managed to identify the beautiful moth in your picture?
    I wish you a joyful week ahead. xxx 

  13. Dusty says:

    Hello again Suki – I think you are correct about the emerald moth – could be the LARGE or the COMMON, depending on its size.  As for the fungus, we can only see the top, but I think it could be the Shaggy Parasol (Macrolepiota Rhacodes) ?  Anyone else got any ideas?
    love
    Dusty
    x
     

  14. Michiko's says:

     Hi suki,
     The butterfly pictures are so beautiful that I’m glad visit here ha ha ha of cause I coming to see what’s new things in your space.
     Thank you for sharing such unusual Butterfly pictures.
     Have a great week ahead,
     Michiko

  15. Magick says:

    Hi Suki:
    I thought I would just pop my head in here and say hello.  I hope you’re having a wonderful summer.
    Hugs,
    Diane 

  16. Bittersweet on-the-hill. says:

    Hello Suki…..
    Just taking a stroll through your garden and wildlife. Interesting pictures. I love the artistry of the dandelion.
     
    The weather in the northeast here is a tad cool. We’ve pulled out the flannel shirts for a few days. Unseasonable for our August.
     
    Sidney is in the full bloom of puppyhood. I have forgotten what it takes to raise a puppy.  Must be getting older than I realize!!!!
     
    Hope you are well.   Bittersweet

  17. Kenneth says:

    i saw this picture of the Mysterious Moth. "Blotched" Emerald" http://www.mattslaymaker.co.uk/Other%20Wildlife/Moths/Large%20Emerald%20-%20Jul%2006.JPGHope you are enjoying the "bbq" summer !!!

Leave a comment