LEARNING CURVE

MY FUCHSIA IN A WINE GLASS!

Playtime 081

 

This is a learning curve for me, I have been so inspired by photos on flickr and this is my first attempt – I know I still have a long way to go. 

Watch this space it can only get better!

 

Suki x

About brentwoodprop

Just loving life, carrying my camera and searching for beauty!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to LEARNING CURVE

  1. Kuskulana says:

    Hey Susie, it is a learning curve for us all, that is half the fun!
    Take Care and I will be watching…
    Love the futchia in the wine glass
    Take Care
     

  2. Embrace says:

    Hi Susie  , This photo is an inspiration. Keep sharing. I love this photo and its one of your best. I have to  try it. I havent tried anything like this. Flickr is amazing I think to. So many many gifted people ,its endless. Have a great week !
    Love Lisa.

  3. Sailing says:

    oh! we can find different world view from different seeing or vision.

  4. Embrace says:

    Have a great Week on Flickr.
    Love Lisa

  5. aravind says:

    hi dear

  6. Tani says:

    Like I said on flickr,This is fociused nicely. Good artistic shot. HAve fun on that curve.

  7. Cindy says:

    Love, love, love it!!
     

  8. ♥ Aimee says:

    what an awesome picture…
    *~*   :o) if you don’t have a smile to give today…  :o) I will give you one of mine…  :o)   *~*

  9. Sheila says:

    Oh Suki,
    This is beautiful! You couldn’t have picked a prettier color scheme to blur in the background and the detail in the water of the glass is wonderful!  I can see you are having a blast!  I am way behind…spent a day this past weekend messing with the monochrome setting on my 30D and ended up with nothing…well not exactly nothing, I now know what NOT to do when trying to take black and white pictures (we had a civil war re enactment here in town, wanted to make it look authentic). 
    Still looking up, you wouldn’t believe the very strange season we have had, almost November and our tree’s have yet to turn! BUT there does seem to be SOMETHING in that pecan tree in front…may have to wait for Christmas recipes!!!
    hugs,
    Sheila
     
     

  10. Sheila says:

    Oh Suki,
    This is beautiful! You couldn’t have picked a prettier color scheme to blur in the background and the detail in the water of the glass is wonderful!  I can see you are having a blast!  I am way behind…spent a day this past weekend messing with the monochrome setting on my 30D and ended up with nothing…well not exactly nothing, I now know what NOT to do when trying to take black and white pictures (we had a civil war re enactment here in town, wanted to make it look authentic). 
    Still looking up, you wouldn’t believe the very strange season we have had, almost November and our tree’s have yet to turn! BUT there does seem to be SOMETHING in that pecan tree in front…may have to wait for Christmas recipes!!!
    hugs,
    Sheila
     
     

  11. Delete52Mitch says:

    Looks great! Much love from Alabama. Happy Halloween! Mitch

  12. Robert T says:

    I shall strike a note of caution…"This is a learning curve for me.." but what is the ‘this’? Photography or creativity? I suspect that it is the former which you mean though it is the latter which needs attention.Your Fuschia picture is quite disappointingly mundane. The image lacks a meaning. Is it a picture of a glass, the Fuschia or the lens effect of the water. What is the picture saying? And where is the eye being directed in the shot? Crucially, what have you – the photographer – brought to the scene? What here is actually creative?You have drunk from the glass leaving scattered droplets which are now distracting. More worrying, the flowers are squeezed into the bottom corner of the glass, distorted almost to be unrecognisable and over-exposed. With the remainder of the bowl being void of meaningful detail, the centre of the image – virtually the entire bowl of the glass – is an empty space. Why on Earth are the flowers not filling the glass?There is also no tonal separation between the foreground – the glass – and the background so both elements merge confusingly. This results in the problem mentioned earlier in that the eye has no route through the image and nowhere to rest.Creativity is a fragile experience. The picture has to be seen first before the method of recording is employed. If there is any ‘learning curve’ for you to endure it must be to see the potential pictures all around us and develop the ability to make something of them rather than merely record the scene.You also do need to be able to see the whole picture and the tensions and balances within it. In this example Fuschia shot you have concentrated on the water lens effect but somehow overlooked the enormous hole in the centre of the picture.Robert Twww.flickr.com/photos/verysimply/sets

  13. Coffee With Kate says:

    A magical shot….well done! and yes you may with pleasure ‘borrow’ the qoute from my page. Thanks for the visit and Im pleased you enjoyed the posts.
    Have a wonderful weekend.
    lots of warm hugs to you
    xxx

  14. Kenneth says:

    I think Robert T means , we all perceive the subject matter, but to understand the substance we must add something of our own.
    anyway i like it.
    RE: your comment on my space. It is not my digits I am worried about loosing, I have plenty of them, but only one of the other.   lol
    Have a good weekend and keep clicking.
    Kenny.x

  15. Embrace says:

    Justs stopping in to say hi. Have a great weekend full of fun and photos.
    Love Lisa

  16. Sheila says:

    I have come by to wish you a fantastic weekend!  The 12 mile run tomorrow is a training run (did 11 miles last Saturday) and the real run (13 miles) is next weekend, but I’ll take your "spirit" any chance I can get it!  I will be stressing big time next week, but trying not to show it!  In the end, I may just chicken out and do a 5K fun run if I don’t feel "right" about this one, then leave it for next year.  I have put a great deal of training in a small amount of time, and I am beginning to feel it.  The pressure will be off me to perform after next weekend, but I can honestly say it has been a thrill to feel this exhilarating feeling when one pushes oneself!
    OH! we are experiencing a Nor’ Easter, with high winds…saw a man just a bit ago, with his bag along the side of the road picking up pecans!  Guess what else I will be doing this weekend (besides my training run)!
    hugs,
    Sheila
     

  17. swamp says:

    Afternoon Suki. Great picture. Says to me, ‘a glass of wine can make you see things differently.’
    Have a great weekend  xx

  18. Suki x says:

    Thank you Swampy, clearly you have a glass that is half full rather than half empty, and the photo spoke to you and you got a message back which is more than some commentators ‘who shall be nameless’  also as somebody pointed out ‘I have drunk from the glass’ Yep that tells you I am a happy wino lol
     
    Suki x

  19. swamp says:

    I can’t possibly think why Robert’s space is set to ‘private’  lol

  20. Mei's says:

    Hi Suki, hope you’re ok, just popped in to say hi, your picture are lovely, i wish i can understand more on phtoagrahe, have a lovely weekend. Mei

  21. Tinks says:

    Love this pic…
     
    Hope you’re having a lovely sunday…
    Tinks xXx
     

  22. Mei's says:

    Thank you Suki for your kind comment, I hope you’re right that one day my daughter and me can get on well. Take care. Mei

  23. Deborah says:

    WTF was that Robert guy talking about?  Sheesh, is he just full of himself.  I have the photo saved as my wallpaper at home and the office.  Everyone loves it.  Does that tell you how much I loved it?
    Blessed be,

  24. Christine says:

    Very nice picture Suki.  I am sure you will ccontinue to learn and create much more wonderful pictures.
     
    Christine

  25. Embrace says:

    Hi , Love the new Quote. So true. I have heard something like this. Im gald you shared it. Have a great week.
    Love Lisa

  26. Coffee With Kate says:

    Its Gone! The fuchsia in a wine glass has disappeared from your page. Hope you are enjoying a wonderful day, thanks for visiting …xxx Kate.

  27. Bittersweet on-the-hill. says:

    Hello Suki,
     
    Lovely pictures! I visited Kew Gardens many years ago and unfortunately the greenhouses were closed for renovations. I also don’t recall any of the sculptures being there at that time, but still a very lovely place to visit. I remember taking a boat up the Thames and the last stop was Kew Gardens.
    We had a driving rain last night, the remnants of tropical storm Noel. This morning as I walked to the bungalow,the sun stippled the hills, and the raindrops shone as crystalized  prisms on the last of the flowering blooms.  I am so thankful I brought in the drying hydrangia that now sit in a neighbor’s flower bowl on the dining room table. The vines on the old hickory fence have withered for another season and only the remnants of summers grasses hug the posts.  (Laughing with you.)
    I hope you are well.  The peonie is lovely.   Bittersweet

  28. Ye Olde says:

    Hi suki,
    I picked up your link from kate, and was intrigued to see this fuscia picture for myself….
    what a great idea….and what a nice picture.. did you think about it for long, or was it just one of those " that will make a good photo " moments?
    I will have to give it a go myself soon, but I will have to go some to beat this one… it really is a good picture, dont give up!
     
    Take care,and keep taking the photos!
    Woof woof !

Leave a Reply

