April Garden

Thanks to everyone for for bearing with me, I have not been around much blogging or visiting but life is so full … you would think I would have more time now I have retired but not so, I am finding many things to fill my days.Garden April 026

The daffodils lasted well into April and then these beautiful white narcissus took over filling the air with their beautiful perfume.

Every garden of course has to have it’s army of workers, and here is a baby one he is doing a good job at keeping the slugs and other invaders who want to nibble at my plantsGarden April 002. I found him whilst I was digging and asked him very nicely to pose and set him on the nice green leaf but he kept hopping away, but he was still long enough for me to get this picture.  Another beautiful and unusual flower that blooms in April is the Fritillary this interesting little bulb loves a damp open meadow and looks like a checkered lampshade  we also have a white variety which looks lovely mixed in with the purple.Garden April 013

The Snow in Summer looks exactly like a Snowdrop except it is about 15" tall and naturalizes beautifully in woodland areas, I love the green tips to the petals and the arching stems.

  Garden April 050Summer Snowflake

Recently we had a tree come down and and amongst the  trunks we found this fungus growing it is called Dryads Saddle and is definitely not edible

 

 Garden April 072      Garden April 090

The first picture was taken when we first saw it and the second about 6 days later, it is now about 30" across and a bit tatty looking but still quite magnificent.

About 10 years ago we put an Owl Box in a tall tree at the end of the Garden April 087garden, and always hoped that we would get a family of Owls to visit, well we saw this baby sitting on the perch flapping his wings about and I managed to get a couple of pictures.  

We are also lucky enough to have a small wooded area attached to our garden which at this time is filled with English Bluebells, you can see in the picture the Owl in the box top left if you look very carefully, the

 Garden May 112         Garden May 091

top picture is the mother bird and the lower picture is the Owellett and they are Tawny Owls not Barn Owls

Thank you for taking the time to visit and read my rambling I hope you have enjoyed my garden in April

 

Suki X

About brentwoodprop

Just loving life, carrying my camera and searching for beauty!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to April Garden

  1. Horst says:

    Wonderfull photos. I love to see these type of photos.
    Rambling, You are not rambling, I love your commentary.
     
    Horst

  2. Kuskulana says:

    Oh thank you Suki for another lovely garden stroll
    I understand about being busy after you are free from the daily grind,
    it is like you have all these things you have been putting off and pushing aside!
    Hugs to you from you Alaska friend

  3. Walter says:

    I love these photos I think the owl ones is fantastc love and hugs Walter xxx

  4. RedWillow ♥ Photography / Lisa says:

    Beautiful Blog and Beautiful Photos, I love the one of the flowers in the trees. I could just lay down in then and let them take over.
    Lovely as always Suki . Thanks for sharing and Im so Happy that I came to visit.  Cant wait for the next entry. Have a Great Week .
    Love Lisa xo

  5. Cindy says:

    Fabulous, Suki!!
     

  6. Sheila says:

    Suki my Suki!oh how lovely, I have so enjoyed my visit, stay busy and keep living Suki! wouldn’t want you any other way!love and hugs

  7. Kenneth says:

    Hi Suki.
                  that bluebell wood looks lovely, and the snowdrops are just great,   errrmm…the toad is a voracious predator in the garden, but not one of my favorite garden friends.
     nice to have a nesting pair of owl’s in your back garden…I am jealous,   lol
     
    Brilliant sunshine here today,  errmmm…am I still in England ?
    Take care Suki.
    love Kenny x

  8. Coffee With Kate says:

    Hi Suki, thanks for the visit. I have just peeped through your new photographs. Love them all but mostly the frog and the owl.
    Take care and have a super week-end.
    Warm hugs
    Kate. xxx

  9. Mei's says:

    Nice to see you again Suki, and thanks for the comment, always love to come here your flower pics always worth  visit. Take care. Mei

  10. Kenneth says:

    Hello Suki.
                       "The devil rides out"…Strangly enough my mother liked D.W.  and that book was in the house for years and years.
    I am not into the "supernatural"   as you are aware i do not believe in gods, devils, spooks, ghosts and the like.
    My feet are on the ground.
    take care Suki
    love Kenny x

  11. StandingBearInTheWind says:

    Your garden is beautiful. Love the Owls, flowers, and trees. Aho

  12. Tani says:

    How wonderful to live near the wood, I am always  so delighted to see your Blue bells pix in England.
     
    I am gla you finelly have an owl nesting, Hope she will return many more springs for your viewing pleasure.

  13. Kenneth says:

    come on you Suki get your finger out and get blogging woman.
    people are waiting to see more of your lovely pictures.
    love Kenny x
    ps.  talking of fingers, have you seen Kates finger lately. ? she had a accident with a blender.  Ouch.

  14. Jim says:

    A truely wonderful garden.

  15. RedWillow ♥ Photography / Lisa says:

    Hi  Just stopping in to see whats new and see how your loving and living. Miss you GF.
    Hugs to you .
    Lisa

  16. Michiko's says:

    hi suki,
    It has been a long time I didn’t visits in here, I really enjoyed look at a beautiful flowers and the Owls pictures ..
    The Tawny Owls has more yellowish colours than the mother’s Owel ..may be still baby?  
    Thank you for sharing us.
    Big Hugs,
    Michiko
     

  17. Dusty says:

    Hi Suki – so sorry I only just got round to seeing this fab blog – lovely pictures and so interested to hear about the nesting owls.  I think you know that I have a bit of a ‘thing’ about owls.  I must get round to adding to my space.
    Well done with yours.
    love
    Dusty
    x
     

  18. Christine says:

    Beautiful pics, and don’t feel bad sometimes it can be difficult to devote the time to blog regularly  I hope to hear from you in the future.

  19. Unknown says:

    Welcome to enter (wow gold) and (wow power leveling) trading site, (wow gold) are cheap, (wow power leveling) credibility Very good! Quickly into the next single! Key words directly to the website click on transactions!

  20. Unknown says:

    Amberdigital Branch,Southern Stars Enterprises Co is specializing in the development and manufacturing of ad players, advertisement player and LCD advertisings. Established in 1996, we have explored and developed the international market with professionalism. We have built a widespread marketing network, and set up a capable management team dedicated to provide beyond-expectation services to our customers.

    amberdigital Contact Us
    Southern Stars Enterprises Co (Hong Kong Office)
    Add:3 Fl, No.2, Lane 2, Kam Tsin Tsuen, Sheung Shui, Hong Kong
    Tel:+852 2681 4099
    Fax:+852 2681 4586
    Southern Stars Enterprises Co (Shenzhen Office)
    Add:DE, 16/F, Building 2, Nanguo Tower, Sungang Road, Shenzhen, China
    Tel:+86 755 2592 9100
    Fax:+86 755 2592 7171
    E-mail:sstar@netvigator.com
    website:www.amberdigital.com.hk
    alibaba:amberdigital.en.alibaba.com[ba

  21. Unknown says:

    To the global wow gold the cheapest wow power leveling under the cheapest single-site! -18345397056045

Leave a Reply

