Return to Kew Gardens

 

We recently made a return visit to Kew Gardens which are the Royal Botanic Gardens of Great Britain.  Their latest installation is a walkway which takes you way up to the top of the trees and gives splendid views over the parklands and across London.  It is quite a steep climb to the top and although there is a lift it is not yet working.

Visit to Kew July 012

         Visit to Kew July 031

  Here you can see the walkway and that I did arrive at the top!!

Kew of course in renown for the flowers and here are two different types of lily, the fragrance is terrific I wish you could smell them!

Visit to Kew July 067         Visit to Kew July 176

But there is so much to see at Kew the many famous glass houses

Visit to Kew July 149

This is the Palm House they are renovating the garden here and restoring it to Victorian splendor, it will eventually be a Knot Garden made up of lavender and roses.  Unfortunately there was a huge grass box dumped just where I wanted to take the picture so I could not get it completely symmetrical, oh well a good excuse for another visit!

The wild life is to die for! this little family came eagerly to meet us and Visit to Kew July 102  willingly posed whilst I took the pictures with so many children life must be a balancing act especially if you only have one leg!!

Visit to Kew July 139

 Here is another resident who willingly stood still whilst I took my pictures

Well I hope you have enjoyed this walk around Kew with me, it was  a lovely day and I hope you did not get dizzy on the tree walk LOL

Walk with me again soon

 

Suki x

 

 

 

 

  

 

About brentwoodprop

Just loving life, carrying my camera and searching for beauty!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Return to Kew Gardens

  1. Horst says:

    What a fantastic place, and you look very nice also. What an interesting looking duck. The babies look so cute. Good photos Suki. Keep them coming.
     
    Horst

  2. Michiko's says:

    Hi suki,
    It always loved to walking around a beautiful garden and I smelt of one of the liliy there I had yellow powder on my nose ha ha ha
    I wish I would be at the Kew garden.
    Thank you for sharing,
    Michiko 

  3. Kenneth says:

    Hello Suki.
                      Never have been to Q.gardens, I realy should correct this. Like the idea of the tree walk, i feel the Tarzan in me swinging out 🙂
    Just off to look at your photos on flickr, again.
    Have a wonderful weekend Suki.  Kenny. x

  4. Dusty says:

    Great blog and brilliant photos as always – yes it looks a brill garden, no wonder you keep going back there.
    Keep on enjoying life Suki and having a good time.
    Love
    Dusty
    x
     

  5. swamp says:

    Hiya Suki. Never been to Kew; but I think I want to now. Looks better than I thought.
    Have a great weekend  xx

  6. Magick says:

    Hi Suki:
    It’s so nice to see a comment from you.  I think these self-imposed absences are very important.  I’ve taken them from time to time.  In fact, I’m sort of in and out of one right now….lol.
    It’s so wonderful to have such nice friends as you…..friends that make you feel good when you see that they’ve been by for a visit.
    That walkway sounds amazingly beautiful, but without a lift working, it’s not somewhere I could visit.  The pictures a wonderful, as usual.  I love the heron one.  We have a heron in the park near me (well, we have lots of them, but this one is special); his name is Henry.  He’s been there for "donkey’s ages" and is a fixture in the park now.  It think he’s had his picture taken a least a trillion times…lol.  There’s an elderly lady that goes to the park every single day, even on the coldest days of winter, and feeds Henry such things as canned sardines and canned clams, etc.  I don’t know what Henry will do when she can’t come anymore.  I hope Henry peacefully leaves first.
    Hugs,
    Diane
     

  7. RedWillow ♥ Photography / Lisa says:

    Hi Suki. .Wonderful Place to see and visit with you.  Not something I see all the time . Love the Lavender Walk to the Glass house.
    Beautiful Images as always . Thanks
    Love Lisa

  8. RedWillow ♥ Photography / Lisa says:

    BTW Suki that is a Beautiufl Image of you. !!

  9. Deborah says:

    I enjoyed the photos from Kew so much the last time, I was happy to see you went back.  Funny that even on the west coast of the U.S. I have heard of the famous gardens all my life, and to hear both Kenny and Swampy admit they have never been, I don’t feel so bad about having never visited the Rhododendrum and Bonzai gardens in Federal Way, WA.  I really should have because I lived close enough to walk most of my life.  I think I will make that effort now.
    Yes it is nice to think we all watched the opening ceremonies 8/8/8.  Wow!  I confess I was blown away, and I am seeing China through new eyes this morning. 
    Blessed be

  10. Dusty says:

    Thanks for the great new ‘show photos’ – hope you had a good day there and wonder if you won any prizes?
    love
    Dusy
    x
     

Leave a Reply

