First blog

 

I started Blogging on Spaces Live in November 2005 and below you will see my very first blog

 

Warning by Jenny Joseph

When I am old I shall wear purple

With a red hat which doesn’t go.   and doesn’t suit me.

And I shall spend my pension on brandy and summer gloves

And satin sandals.   and say we’ve no money for butter.

I shall sit down on the pavement when I’m tired

And gobble up samples in shops and press alarm bells

And run my stick along the public railings

And make up for the sobriety of my youth.

I shall go out in my slippers in the rain

And pick flowers in other people’s gardens

And learn to spit.

You can wear terrible shirts and grow more fat

And eat three pounds of sausages at a go

or only bread and pickle for a week

And hoard pens and pencils and beer mats and things in boxes.

But now we must have clothes that keep us dry

And pay our rent and not swear in the street

And set a good example for the children.

We must have friends to dinner and read the papers.

But maybe I ought to practice a little now?

So people who know me are not too shocked and surprised

When suddenly I am old.   and start to wear purple.

 

Now 4 and a bit years on I still love this poem by Jenny Joseph

And as it is my Birthday on Saturday and I will be 167 years old I will celebrate by not wearing purple!!

 

Happy Valentines’ to All

 

Hutton Hall July 011

 

Hutton Hall July 062

 

Love Suki x

 

 

About brentwoodprop

Just loving life, carrying my camera and searching for beauty!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to First blog

  1. Kenneth says:

    The old ones are best Suki. x

  2. Kuskulana says:

    You sure don’t look 167 Suki !Funny poem, maybe you can put a purple flower in your bonnet just just to show you can.Happy Valentines Day on your birthday, and Hugs from Alaska

  3. Mei's says:

    Happy Birthday! Suki, my daughter’s timing are just little bit short, didn’t make it on valentine. Beautiful pics, one of my favourvite colour. Have a good time Suki! Big hugs, Mei

  4. Michiko's says:

    Hi Suki! Wish A Happy Birthday for you and many more years to come over two hundred lol! The pictures are beautiful as usual.You are just like the red wine that you have mentaly mturely wise lady now enjoy your retiring age.Happy Valentine Day with your hubby.Michiko

  5. Embrace says:

    I remember this . Happy Birthday on Saturday. Fine Day to be born. Sending Much Love to you across the Pond.Lisa xo

  6. PEP says:

    Happy Birthday Suki

  7. Europa's says:

    167 yrs Suki?!! You age well.! Wouldn’t have put you a day past 21 myself…lol;)) Think there must be some Valentine’s magic there!Good poem and beautiful photos…and is that a hint of purple that I see there by any chance?!!Happy Valentine’s Birthday for Saturday ;-))

  8. gerberdaisy says:

    Happy Birthday to you ! I love this poem it is very sweet! I love to wear purple, I am wearing it in my new profile picture! LOL!!!Brandy and summer gloves oh yeah!!! Who needs butter anyway! 🙂

Leave a Reply

