Autumn in the Wildwood

Autumn is a beautiful time in the Wildwood, and so far this year it has been reasonably dry with crisp days and bright blue skies, the sunlight slants through the trees giving a beautiful clear but dappled light.

 It appears to be a very good year for fungi, and there are so many varied types about many are poisonous and some are very good to eat, never eat anything that you are not completely sure of.

This one was tiny about .5cm across, with the light shining behind the group gave it a translucent look.

 This is called The Miller, see how frilly it is growing in a circle with about ten others

Here it is from a different angle with added fly interest!

This is the famous Fly Agaric, poisonous but rarely fatel has hallucinogenic properties.

              

And here is a Shaggy Ink Cap and two Shaggy Parasols.

 These are oyster mushrooms growing on the side of a dead log so dark and well camouflaged I did not see them at first but an animal had found them before me and had eaten half the far side away I think I was lucky to get this shot intact.

 And lastly this tiny little fellow less than half a centimeter across and growing in the moss on a dead log with the sun behind it shows the colour and markings off really well.

Autumn is not over yet but we are moving closer into winter, so I think there will be more walks in the Wildwood to come

I hope you enjoyed this walk with me and didn’t fall down too many hole and if you are of the canine persuasion I trust you found plenty of wild life to chase

Stay well be happy and enjoy life

Suki x

About brentwoodprop

Just loving life, carrying my camera and searching for beauty!
This entry was posted in The Wildwood and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Autumn in the Wildwood

  1. I did both thanks! Fell down several holes(of the rabbit variety lol) and chased every form of wildlife my Wolfie eyes laid upon 😉 Droooooool!! Great walk in the Wildwood though, in spite of these unfortunate accidents I seemed prone to experiencing 😉 Very educational too…I will be very careful on the autumn toadstool front especially those with the bonus flies attached! I might enjoy the halluciogenic ones though…I thought I had some nice wooly paw warmers the other day but then I realised I was hallucinating about that too lol…well so long as they’re ready in time for the next walk in the wildwood 🙂

  2. We have snow on the ground here in Aberdeen, so winter has truly arrived. I wish you a very Merry Christmas, and all the best for the year to come.

  3. Hi Susan, got your Christmas Card, thank you so much. You have yourself a wonderful Christmas and a Happy New Year.

  4. kenny2dogs says:

    Hi Suki.
    Some lovely photo’s here as ever. Hope you had a nice time over the hol’s, how pleased am I that it is all over. No more x/mas songs on the radio, no more add’s on tv Heaven lol
    So looking forward to the warmer weather. “OH YES ” and thank you for the card.
    Take care Suki x

  5. Hi

    I love the mushroom/toadstool pics – you could make a calendar with them – amazing images.
    Chris

  6. ivinseleanor says:

    I also am a fan of the mushroom pics. I don’t believe I have ever seen a Fly Argaric. Beautiful!

Leave a Reply

