St Valentine’s Day

February 14 means different things to us all for me this year it is the day I became a Septagenarian! And I can assure you all that I feel no different, just as young at heart as ever!

As you can imagin I had lots of flowers all very beautiful, we had a busy few days with parties and family visiting, when all was quiet again I went to tidy up the vases of flowers only to find the daisies, carnations etc all still beautiful but the red roses given to me by my husband were, dried, wrinkled and in a sorry state! Preparing to throw them out I decided all was not lost as there was still beauty in their decay.

I call this St Valentines Day Massacre! These beautiful roses are forced into bloom for this particular day they have been stored for weeks in low temprature so the shops will have vast quantities to sell to the all adoring lovers, and a commercial success.

Part of the Birthday celebrations was a trip to RHS Wisley, and a trip to see the butterflies flying free in the New Glass House.  How lucky were we to be able to see these beautiful creatures up close.

This is a Blue Morphous, I am told we were lucky to catch it with its wings open to reveal the beautiful colour

This is the usual view

And here is a different variation, the metalic effect it to confuse preditors, so very beautiful!

We walked back up through the gardens passed the lake of ‘Fire & Ice’ for a spot of lunch and homeward a very lovely Birthday

Thank you for shairing it with me

Susan

About brentwoodprop

Just loving life, carrying my camera and searching for beauty!
This entry was posted in Hobbies, photo outings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to St Valentine’s Day

  1. A happy belated birthday! I can’t believe you are that age that you wrote. What do numbers mean, though? Thank you for the photos of RHS Wisley. These are places that I see on Gardener’s World and dream of being able to visit someday. The butterflies are gorgeous. We’ve been to Butterfly World in Edinburgh a few times and having so many butterflies nearby is truly magical.

  2. Happy belated birthday! 🙂 Beautiful pics and the lake of fire and ice sounds like an ice/fire wolf hunting ground on Europa/Io 😉 I have worked at RHS Wisley… the public area is lovely…I won’t tell you about behind the scenes!!!!! lol 🙂
    Wolfie hugs :)x

  3. plummymummy says:

    Happy [belated] birthday – as always your photos are AMAZING. And the birthday day itself looks fab.

Leave a Reply

