Royal Botanic Gardens Kew

We are so lucky to have so many well cared for open spaces and one I particularly love here in London is Kew.  Given to the Nation by Queen Victoria it’s history goes way back.  All is here and preserved for our delight.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We visited on New Years Day which started off bright and clear but eventually reduced to pouring rain, but as the most spectacular plants in January are in the glass houses this did not spoil our day.  Our first stop was the Palm House which is a beautiful Victorian building with a wrought iron spiral staircase to a high level viewing gallery.

Carring on down the staicase we come to the aquatic plant section here fish of fantastic colours swim amoungst amazing plants

I followed this couple all around the Palm house (not intentionally) but did hope to get

A good shot of the HAT, thought this was nice with the lighing from the tank.

On our way over to the Princess of Wales Greenhouse we met this little fellow.  This is where the more tropical plants are kept.

Keep will clear of these Omnivorous plants they may look pretty and harmless but there was the odd shoe and pair of specs laying about!

But the most spectacular of of course the orchids

Along with a couple of other stunners.

After a lovely carvery meal in The Orangery resturant we headed around the M25 in the pouring rain, a wonderful day thanks to or frinds Jenni and Bob especially Bob who did all the driving

Hope you enjoyed the trip as much as we did!

 

Suki x

 

 

About brentwoodprop

Just loving life, carrying my camera and searching for beauty!
This entry was posted in photo outings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Royal Botanic Gardens Kew

  1. Well! Besides almost being eaten alive by those hungry plants whilst chasing the red breasted one of the tropical regions lol Yes! I had a wonderful time on this awesome and inspiring trip to the Botanic Gardens thanks! The slide show is great…and I was deeply impressed by the contours of THE HAT! lol 😉 I have a feeling I shall be padding off to Kew G’dns my Wolfie self in the coming months 🙂 Wolfie hugs and a big slobbery Wolfie lick!!!! 🙂 x

  2. Gorgeous photographs Suki. Love the one of the staircase
    Thanks for popping by to view my blog; I’m sure you will find the recipe quite handy and to be enjoyed as much as your caramelised onion chutney.
    Take care
    Kate

  3. kenny2dogs says:

    Hello my flowery friend.
    I love red breasts, they become so tame you can hold them in the palm of your hand and stroke them.
    Yes some great photographs here Suki you do the subject proud. The Orchids look fantastic and as I recall they are quite easy to grow.
    Carvery in the orangery, sounds wonderful. You certainly know how to live it up Suki. I can imagine the aroma of the roast duckling mingling with the smell of the oranges and your perfume. An intoxicating blend of the orient.
    So pleased you had a lovely time, I am jealous lol
    Take care my lovely friend
    Kenny x

  4. christinelaennec says:

    Oh that sounds (or should I say looks) like a beautiful day out! Kew Gardens really is a national treasure.

  5. Scrambled Megs says:

    Loved your pictures and story. I would love to do some garden trips soon. Such peaceful places.

  6. mctell2 says:

    You make nature even more beautiful with your blog.

Leave a comment