Kaffe Fasette Exhibition

The Kaffee Fasette Exhibition is currently on at the Fashion and Textile Museum in Bermondsey Street London.Kaffe Fassett Exhibition 031

Kaffe Fasette was born in 1937 in California USA Attended Art College in Boston and has worked as an Artist in New York and California In 1964 he travelled to the UK and visited Scotland and was inspired by the colours of nature and the weaving and spinning of the Scottish wool, he met a lady on the train on his journey back to London who taught him to knit, by the time he arrive he was away with colours and yarns spinning in his head he was on the verge of his life changing experience and new career.Kaffe Fassett Exhibition 016

A plethora of patchwork greeted us in rich and vibrant colours inspired by his trips to the EastKaffe Fassett Exhibition 006

Simple and elegant designsKaffe Fassett Exhibition 020

A stunning hand knitted coatKaffe Fassett Exhibition 029

A room setting in low light to preserve the fabric but also added atmosphere Kaffe Fassett Exhibition 026

Canvas work inspired by an English Country Garden such vibrant colours

Kaffe Fassett Exhibition 033Kaffe Fassett Exhibition 030

Kaffe Fassett Exhibition 017    Four more beautiful quilts in dramatic colours some good enough to eatKaffe Fassett Exhibition 009 Kaffe Fassett Exhibition 021

A stunning cushion and three beautiful hand knitted coats The Exhibition is on till 29 June, you can discover more here http://ftmlondon.org/Kaffe Fassett Exhibition 027

About brentwoodprop

Just loving life, carrying my camera and searching for beauty!
This entry was posted in 2013 project, All things wooly, Hobbies, photo outings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Kaffe Fasette Exhibition

  1. Pia says:

    I saw one of his exhibitions I think it was 26 years ago. Fun to see some new items!

  2. christinelaennec says:

    I would just love to go see this exhibition, but although my family and I have talked it over, I don’t think my daughter is well enough for me to go to London at the moment. So I’m REALLY happy to see your photos! Thank you!

  3. ro848 says:

    Thanks for the photos. His creativity astounds me.

  4. Takayama says:

    The beautiful hand knitted coats kaffe fsette in 1937.
    It was very handing to sinking about all hand knitted in the Japan too we has old things a beautiful as will.
    Thank you for coming to see me Susan!
    Have a nice day!
    Michiko

  5. I didn’t know about this! I’d love to visit that place it looks awesome! You’ve got some great pics here and such vibrant colours in these designs 🙂 I’d love to snuggle up in one of those knitted coats, looks wonderful and cosy! Look lovely against my shiny Europan white coat too 🙂
    Wolfie hugs!

  6. As always, I am drooling over his color sensibilities! Thanks for posting these scrumptious photos! They’re just gushing with color, yum!

Leave a comment